Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Resources for Your Bibliography
How to Use This Guide
This guide is intended to provide you with information to successfully complete your paper for ANT 242. Information under the tabs at the top of the page is there to provide you with additional help with the process. You will find hints and online tutorials under each tab to help you find appropriate information for your paper. You will find suggestions on places to look for information for your paper below your assignment on this page. Once you determine your search subjects, you will find additional information in the other "Academic and Scholarly Sources" listed in the column on the left-hand side of the page.
Tab 1: Search Strategy: How to find background information and how to formulate a search using different vocabulary.
Tab 2: Credible Sources: How to find books, videos, images, and peer-reviewed (also called scholarly) articles. This tab provides information about what makes a scholarly article scholarly.
Tab 3: Legal and Ethical: Includes information on how to incorporate other people's research into your presentation and has examples of different types of citations for both print and electronic sources.
References Cited (Bibliography)
This is where you alphabetically list all the written sources you used to weave your argument and is a very important part of your paper. This is how you establish your credibility by letting the reader know what you used to craft your paper. You need AT LEAST 3 cited sources. A good paper will have more. Do not simply pick the first three or so you find! Use the most relevant, informative sources. In the course of your research, you should look at many, and but use only a handful of the ones best suited to your argument. These sources will be books, scholarly journal articles (NOT magazine articles), and possibly technical archaeological reports. EVERY PIECE OF INFORMATION YOU USE THAT IS NOT YOUR OWN IDEA SHOULD BE CITED with both an in-text citation after the information, and a full citation of the source in the bibliography. Follow the SAA Style Guide in order to format your references.
The following ARE NOT VALID SOURCES:
- Internet sources THAT ARE NOT: published, scholarly journal articles, academic conference papers, or books. Do not cite “some dude’s webpage about the Maya.” If “that dude” is a legitimate archaeologist, he will have published scholarly articles and books. You need to go find those.
- Popular magazines
- Those crazy History Channel documentaries about aliens building Mesoamerican civilizations
Suggestions for Finding Legitimate Sources
In your papers, you are required to use scholarly (also called peer-reviewed) academic sources. Here are six successful strategies for finding such sources (they may be books, book chapters, or articles in academic journals).
Your textbook: Often, the topic of your presentation is mentioned briefly in a textbook. In the back of that textbook, the author usually supplies notes with bibliographic citations. The notes run by page numbers: in other words, if you want further information on something that the author talks about on page 158 of his book, find the number 158 in the notes section at the back of the book. You will see that there are four entries for page 158, and three of these make references to published works (the references have a last name and a year). You can then look up the full bibliographic citation to this published work in the bibliography of the book. With this full citation, you have sufficient information to begin to track down the book.
Library Databases: Go to Academic Search Complete or Anthropology Plus on the Libraries' website. Click on "databases", then type in Academic Search Complete or Anthropology Plus. Select either of the two listings that come up (they are both the same), then when you get to the search screen, do a keyword search on whatever topic that interests you. This will turn up articles that you can then find in the library or download right then and there.
Google Scholar. Search for peer-reviewed articles using keywords from your topic (see samples above).
Books From the Library: Start your search on InfoKat, the University of Kentucky Libraries' online catalog. For those students who have never looked for books in a library, books are shelved according to call numbers. InfoKat, which is available on the UK Libraries' website is the resource for finding books possessed by the library and getting the call number for a book. Once you get the call number, you can use it to find the book on the library shelves (shelves are sometimes called “stacks”). Once you find a book on the shelves, bring it to the main circulation desk, and the employee will check the book out to you (provided you bring your student ID/library card) so that you can take it home. Remember to find out when you must return the book to the library. You will risk getting charged a fee or losing your ability to check out books if you do not return the books on time.
Research Guide for Anthropology: Lists a number of good sources for scholarly literature on Anthropology.
Ask a librarian. These librarians are super helpful and friendly, and they get paid to help you out! Just go to the Libraries' website and click “ask a librarian” (or you can email me: Toni.Greider@uky.edu). Or, walk over to the library and go to the reference desk on the second floor or in the Hub.