Admin Sign In 

Business and Economics 

Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/BE  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Finding Business and Economics Articles

The following databases are good places to look for articles on business and economics topics.  Business Source Premier and ABI/Inform Global index articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines (Forbes, Money, etc.), trade publications, and newspapers. Both are general databases that cover a wide variety of business and economics topics including management, finance, marketing and much more. EconLit indexes mostly scholarly journals (along with books, book sections, dissertations, and working papers) and covers only economics.

Each of these databases includes links to a large amount of full-text articles. Look for links to PDF or HTML full-text. If there is no link, you will see the following icon:

 

Click on it to see if UK Libraries has access to an electronic or paper copy of the article. If not, there will be a link to UK Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.

Business Source Premier

ABI/Inform Global

EconLit

 

Finding Business and Economics Books

UK Libraries has a large collection of books on business and economics topics. To find books, search in UK Libraries' catalog:

InfoKat

To search for books on a particular topic, enter your subject term into the search box (ex. Marketing) and search within the Keyword field. Your results will be displayed in order of relevance (i.e., the most relevant items at the top). You can resort them so that the most recent items are at the top by changing the "sort by" box from "Relevance" to "Publication Date Descending." 

If you get too many results, it will be helpful to narrow your search. To do this, use the Advanced Search. Enter your original term along with additional terms that describe a particular aspect of the subject you are researching. For example, you might add the term "Automobiles" to the original term "Marketing" to find only books which deal with the marketing of automobiles rather than just marketing in general.

Most of the books on business and economics topics will be located on either the 2nd or 4th floors of W.T. Young Library.  Books located on the 4th floor may be checked-out.  Books located on the 2nd floor are reference books and must be used only in the library. 

To find all of the books on a particular topic, not necessarily those owned by UK Libraries, try searching in:

WorldCat

Books owned by UK Libraries will be marked "UK Main Campus" and can be located using the link to InfoKat.  Books not owned by UK Libraries can be requested through the link to UK's Interlibrary Loan service, ILLiad.

 
 

Most-Used Electronic Business Resources

The following databases allow for the broadest, most comprehensive, and most easily-accessible coverage of Business and Economics topics.

ABI/Inform Global
Covers business and economics conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Indexes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines and business newspapers with many available as full-text.  Also includes Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) wire reports and links to dissertations on business and economics topics.

Business Source Premier
Covers management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.  Indexes articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines, and business newspapers with many available as full-text.  Includes Datamonitor Industry Profiles, Datamonitor Company Profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Factiva
Indexes over 9,000 business news sources including newspapers, journals, magazines, newswires, and company press releases.  Coverage is regional, national, and international. Also includes company and stock information. 

Lexis-Nexis
Includes searchable, full-text of many general regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as many specifically devoted to business.  Also includes a section on company dossiers (which includes the ability to produce lists of companies sharing certain characteristics), company profiles, SEC filings, accounting publications, and country profiles.

Mergent
Information on U.S. and International Public and Private companies, including annual reports, history, financials, and more.  Also includes industry information and country profiles.

 

Finding Business and Economics Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias provide an excellent source for background information or a way to quickly learn about a topic.  Encyclopedias are usually written by experts in the field and provide brief, authoritative information on their subjects. Most encyclopedia articles also include bibliographies for further, more in-depth reading. UK Libraries owns numerous encyclopedias (both print and electronic) dedicated to business and economics subjects.  Here are a few commonly used one:

Encyclopedia of American Business
HF1001 .E463 2004 - Ready Reference

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Encyclopedia of Business
HF1001 .E466 1995 - Ready Reference

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
HF5381 .E52 2008 - Ready Reference

Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands
HF5415.3 .E527 1994 - General Reference

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries

Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology

Encyclopedia of Small Business

Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History

Encyclopedia of World Trade
HF1373 .W67 2005 - General Reference

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
HC15 .O94 2003 - General Reference

Oxford Reference Online - Economics and Business
   Dictionary of Accounting
   Dictionary of Business and Management
   Dictionary of Economics
   Dictionary of Finance and Banking
   Dictionary of Human Resource Management
   Handbook of International Financial Terms
   Dictionary of Statistics

Princeton Encyclopedia of World Economy
HF1373 .P75 2009 - General Reference

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
HC15 .W675 2002 - General Reference

 

Business and Economics Liaison

Profile ImagePeter Hesseldenz
Contact Info:
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
(859)257-0500 ext. 2117
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait