This is the "Home" page of the "BIO 325" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIO 325  

Last Updated: May 20, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/BIO325 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome BIO 325 Students!

This guide will help you with lab reports and provide a basic understanding of how to find and use information effectively. Here you will find links to the following:

  • Databases covered in class
  • Research tips
  • Appropriate citation format
  • Plagiarism policies and tutorials

Please contact me or any other personnel at the Agricultural Information Center if you have any questions. Good luck this semester!

Popular Science Databases

  • Web of Science
    Web of Science is the main database you will use when searching for articles in this class. It contains links to >12 million journals and >46 million records. You can search by subject, author, article title, and more. You can also find references cited by a particular article, as well as articles that cite a known author or work.
  • PubMed (University of Kentucky)
    From the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Indexes >22 million citations in the fields of medicine, nursing, veterinary, dentistry, health care, and pre-clinical sciences going back to 1948. Includes links to full-text articles and other related resources.
  • BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM
    Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas, including botany, zoology, and ecology. Includes content summaries, books, meeting abstracts, papers, and posters.
  • Google Scholar (UK)
    Allows you to search across many disciplines and sources for articles, theses, books, and more from academic publishers, professional societies, universities, and other websites. This is NOT specific to Biology. If searching from off-campus, be aware that you will need to access the articles through the UK website for free full-text.

Search UK Libraries Catalog - Books, Journals, & More

Below is the link to the UK Libraries' Catalog.  Search for books and e-books, print and e-journal titles, databases, and many other resources available to the UK student body. 

 libraries.uky.edu

Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 10 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources.

      

    Director of Branch Libraries, Agriculture Liaison, Biology Liaison

    Profile Image
    Valerie Perry
    Contact Info
    Agricultural Information Center
    N-24 Agricultural Science Center North
    Campus 0091
    (859) 257-2758
    (859) 323-4719 (fax)

    Subject Specialties: life sciences, agriculture, biology, IACUC, animal welfare/alternatives
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip