Skip to main content

Curiosity is Key: Exhibits & Tools

Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose. - Zora Neale Hurston

Science & Engineering Library exhibit

Varigraph

The Science & Engineering Library now houses a display of instruments in the entry way that relate to scientists, engineers and even graphic artists. See if you can name the instruments or know who utilized the various instruments!

Kentucky Newspapers

Kentucky Newspapers  |  William T. Young Library, Basement, The Hub

Curious about Kentucky history and happenings? For more than sixty years the University of Kentucky Libraries has preserved hundreds of Kentucky newspapers, making them freely available to researchers, genealogists, and the general public. Today, we bring those newspaper collections to the world through a fully keyword searchable online interface called the Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program (KDNP). Now, with KDNP's enhanced exhibits portal, we make discovery within our newspaper collections more fun and easier than ever. You can browse select collections, such as African American Newspapers, and research highlights like the Hatfields and McCoys. Each newspaper item or collection links to other interesting and useful resources within the University of Kentucky Libraries and beyond.

A brief exhibit of the KDNP is on display on the Hub video walls, in Young Library.

Library Collections Showcase: Constitution Day

Our new library exhibit in honor of Constitution Day is coming in September 2018!

For the entire month of September, our exhibit will showcase materials in our Government Documents collection, research tips for finding more materials related to the Constitution and related topics, and a variety of learning activities! All will be located in the atrium near William T. Young Library's main entrance and open during September 2018.

September 17, 2018 -- on Constitution Day -- we will host a series of special events on this day.

(See more about research with primary resources in government publications here.)

Inspiration Station

Inspiration Station is designed to help students find inspiration for writing their first college-level research paper. Use the navigational tools to explore abstracts written by your colleagues – undergraduate students at UK! This is original research conducted by students at the University of Kentucky, under the direction of various faculty members in a wide range of disciplines coming from all colleges on campus.  Projects are selected from the annual Undergraduate Research Showcase, sponsored by the office of Undergraduate Research.  Browse subjects you are interested in to get inspiration as you plan your paper topic.  Then use the library resources for that subject area to help you find published research in that area. We suggest exploring Inspiration Station in Chrome or Firefox.

What Is Avant-Garde Theatre?

Check out the Fine Arts Library's new exhibit on avant-garde theatre!  On display in the Little Fine Arts Library through Fall 2018, and also available as an online exhibit

exhibit image

Curiosities & Wonders

Visit the exhibit, Curiosities and Wonders on display in the Special Collections and Research Center (SCRC) Lobby and Great Hall until September 14th.

The exhibit is a collection of photographs, objects, artifacts, and ephemera exploring the strange, curious, weird, wondrous, and sometimes silly side of Lexington.

Visit the blog!

Ripped from the Headlines

A guide to understanding the wider context behind stories in the news.

Stories in the news rarely come out of nowhere. In fact, many of them are the culmination of long histories. In order to fully understand the stories we see, hear, or read about, we need some background so that we can put the stories into context and begin to form our own opinions about what happened and what the implications are.

The University of Kentucky Libraries has a wealth of resources that can be used to gain that understanding. So, let your curiosity take you on a journey. This site is designed to let you move from one question to the next and follow wherever your curiosity takes you. And often, the more you know, the more questions you have. Hopefully this site will help you get started. Where you go afterwards, is up to you. Check out our Research Guide and our blog.

image of torn text

Passport to the World: Year of Migration

  

For 2018-2019, the University of Kentucky (UK) College of Arts and Sciences is excited to sponsor the “Year of Migration.” In our increasingly interconnected world, the program will examine the role migration has played and continues to play in shaping societies across the globe, and here at home. This will be an opportunity to examine the importance of inclusion and diversity for contemporary societies and to draw on the existing diversity of the broader community (city, state, region); faculty, staff, and student voices; activist and academic perspectives; and existing expertise in area studies to create a geographically diverse program for the year. A calendar is available to keep you informed of upcoming events throughout the year. 

To satisfy your curiosity of relevant studies conducted at UK, a non-exhaustive guide, University of Kentucky Faculty Publications on Migration, highlights the research on migration and related topics UK faculty published from January 2013 through July 2018. 

For further research, a variety of resources are available for the curious-minded to learn more about migration and related topics.

Look for the exhibit coming this September 2018 in the Rose Street hallway entrance of William T. Young Library.

Beyond the Bluegrass

Coming this spring - January 9, 2019

Beyond The Bluegrass: Delving into Kentucky’s Parks & Forests | William T. Young Library, First Floor, Core 1

In this exhibit, explore historical maps and government documents that highlight some of the unique natural features found around Kentucky. Examine the changing boundaries for the national parks and forests and gain insights into some of the popular tourism sites. Featured maps will focus on Mammoth Cave National Park, Daniel Boone National Forest, and other popular destinations.