Skip to main content

RTM Department: Betty D. Eastin Collection: Home

This research guide acts as a resource for those interested in the field of historic costume. This guide was created by Sarah K. Piester for her Master of Science degree in Merchandising, Apparel and Textiles.

Guide Info

Studying historic costume?  This guide is for you. On this guide, you will find: related academic journals and books, costume related theses and plan B project titles completed in UK's RTM department by Merchandising, Apparel and Textiles majors. There are several photographs, descriptions and donor information on UK's costume collection pieces as well.  Also included are links to Lexington area historic sites and homes as well as a list of other institutions' related research guides.  This guide was conceived and created by Sarah Piester.

Kentucky Digital Library

Kentucky Digital Library

Looking for more primary sources? The Kentucky Digital Library is a resource that allows users to search through digitized manuscript and photographic collections housed in Kentucky.

  Look for other Research Guides

Merchandising, Apparel and Textiles Theses and Plan B Projects

Costume Related Theses and Plan B Projects

Survey of Retrieval Systems for Historical Costumes by Martha Rene Skewes, 1975

The Fashions of a Madam: A Material Culture Analysis of Garments from the Belle Brezing Collection by Jamie Hawks Pack, 1992

Wedding Costume Why's by Beth C. Conner, 1993

Performance Design Process: The Design and Construction of a Shaman's Robe by Barbara M. Trowbridge, 1994

A Material Culture Analysis of Selected Garments Owned by Mona Williams Von Bismarck from 1963-1967 by Carrie L. Phillips, 1997

What She Wore: An Analysis of Belle Brezings' Garments from 1882-1909 by Karen Cummins, 2000

Rural Kentuckians: Effects of E-Commerce on the Acquisition of Food and Fiber Products by Debra B. Cotterill, 2001

Perceptual Effects of Docents' and Costumed Interpreters' Dress on Visitor Experiences at Historic Sites by Nicole Huffman, 2007

Quantitative Measures Representing the Difference Between Proposed Fashions in Publications and Dress Worn by Women Photographed in Media Coverage in Central Kentucky from 1940-1950 and 1964-1974 by Molly Kessinger, 2008

Historic Dress as a Teaching Tool in the Middle School Social Studies Classroom by Avery Malone, 2008

Issues in Expanding Access to University Costume Collections by Sarah K. Piester, 2011

Balenciaga: An Analysis of Construction and Design by Chelsea L. McCown, 2011

 

To access Theses and Non-Theses, make an appointment with the Merchandising Apparel and Textiles Department at 859-257-4917.

  Recommended Journals

To see holdings and locations for paper copies, search InfoKat Discovery; for holdings and electronic access, use E-Journals A-Z.

Apparel

Clothing and Textiles Research Journal

Curator

Dress

Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal

Fashion Theory

Journal of the American Society for Information Science

Journal of Family and Economic Issues

Journal of Home Economics

Journal of Human Resources

Journal of Consumer Affairs

Journal of Consumer Research

Recommended Books

To see holdings and locations search InfoKat for holdings.

Alexander, E. (1941). What should our historical society do?. The American Association

for State & Local History. 1(1) Raleigh, NC: The Graphic Press, Inc. 

Alexander, E. (1959). The museum: A living book of history. Wayne State University

Press. 

Alexander, E. & Alexander, M. (2008). Museums in motion: An introduction to the

history and functions of museums, 2nd Edition. AltaMira Press: Lanham,

Maryland.

Ambrose, T. & Paine, C. (2006). Museum basics, 2nd Edition. Routledge: New York.

Barthes, R. (2006). The language of fashion. Oxford NY: Berg.

Campbell-Warner, P. (2006). When the girls came out to play: The birth of American

sportswear. Amherst & Boston: University of Massachusetts Press.

Capone L.J. (1944). War records projects in the states: 1941-1943. The American

Association for State & Local History. 1(8). Raleigh, NC: The Graphic Press, Inc. 

Editor, Von Sichart E. (Ed.). (1963) A history of costume. Canada: General Publishing

Company, LTD.

Editors, Queen, S. & Berger, V. (Eds.). (2006). Clothing and textile collections in the

United States: A CSA guide. Lubbock, TX: Texas Tech University Press.

Guthe, C. (1959).  The management of small history museums. The American Association

for State & Local History. 2(10). Raleigh, NC: The Graphic Press, Inc. 

Heilbron, B. (1944). How to Organize a Local Historical Society. The American

Association for State and Local History 1(9). Raleigh, NC: The Graphic Press, Inc. 

Laver, J., Blum, A., Reynolds, G., Reade, B. & Van Thienen, F. (1951). Costume of the

western world. Netherlands.

Lester, K. (1942). Historic costume. Peoria, Illinois: The Manual Arts Press.

McMillen, L. (1942). Using volunteers in the local historical society’s program. The

American Association for State & Local History. 1(3). Raleigh, NC: The Graphic

Press, Inc.

Pistolese, R. (1970). History of fashions. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Roach, M.E. & Eicher, J.B. (Eds.) (1965). Dress, adornment, and the social order. John

Wiley & Sons, Inc.: New York, NY.

Ruby, J. (1989). Costume in context: The 1940s & 1950s. London: B.T. Batsford Ltd.

Smith, G.H. (1949). Pictures & history. The American Association for State and Local

History. 2(3). Raleigh, NC: The Graphic Press, Inc. 

Taylor, L. (2002). The study of dress history. Manchester, UK: Manchester University

Press.

Veblen, T. (1957). (Originally published in 1899). The theory of the leisure class. Allen

and Unwin: London. 

Warwick, E., Pitz, H. & Wyckoff, A. (1965). History of American dress. New York:

Benjamin Blom.

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.