Guides to Primary Sources in Special Collections
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "HIS 109-229: History of the U.S. Since 1865" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIS 109-229: History of the U.S. Since 1865  

Last Updated: Jul 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/his109-229 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

 

Introduction

This research guide lists major resources useful for research for HIS 109-229. This is by no means an exhaustive list, so, if you do not find what you need, please contact me either by e-mail, phone, or in person in Young Library.

Best Databases

Opposing Viewpoints

Collection of current event topics--the facts, as well as the arguments, of each topic's proponents and detractors. Includes Topic Overviews and access to the Information Plus reference series of statistics, government data, information on legislation and other data. Draws on the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press as well as core reference content from other Thomson Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources.  

LexisNexis Academic

Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.

ProQuest/LexisNexis also provides access to:

Congressional Search (ProQuest Congressional Publications)

Government Periodicals Index

State Capital from LexisNexis

Statistical Insight (ProQuest)

 

Kentucky Digital Library

Part of the Kentucky Virtual Library; provides online finding aids and digitized material from archival collections across the state of Kentucky.

New York Times Historical Edition ( 1851 -  2009)

Searchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting.

National Archives - Immigration Records

      

    Distance Learning Librarian

    Profile Image
    Carla Cantagallo
    Contact Info
    (859) 218-1240
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip