1a. Select a Topic1b. Develop Research Questions1c. Identify Keywords
2a. Find Background Information2b. Refine a Topic2c. Use Effective Search Strategies
3a. Find Books3b. Find Videos and Images3c. Find Scholarly Articles3d. Find Popular and Newspaper Articles3e. Find Websites
4a. Evaluate Sources4b. Primary vs. Secondary Sources4c. Types of Periodicals
5a. Plagiarism5b. Paraphrasing5c. Citation Style5d. Works Cited Examples5e. Copyright
This is the "Getting Started" page of the "HIS 202: History of the British People to the Restoration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIS 202: History of the British People to the Restoration  

This guide will help you locate the sources you need for your HIS 202 research. The instructions walk you through the research process and show you how to find both print and electronic books and journal articles on a wide range of topics.
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/his202 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Books

It is a good idea to begin your research with some quick and organized background information from sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries. Background information provides an overview and a context. It provides definitions of terminology, important names, places, and dates, and a brief bibliography of important works that you could use as a springboard for your research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources on many different subjects.

Oxford Reference contains concise coverage of a broad range of subjects and is particularly good for quotations and multi-language dictionaries.

Reference Universe
Searches the content of reference resources owned by UK Libraries, both electronic and print titles, linking you to the pages that contain your search terms in the electronic versions and to the location of the print title in the paper collection while also providing page references. Electronic resources are indicated by
.

 

Comments

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

About This Guide

This guide will help you locate the sources you need for your HIS 202 research and essays. The instructions walk you through the research process and show you how to find both print and electronic books as well as  journal articles on a wide range of topics and issues.

 

Where Good Ideas Come From

Something to think about ...

Academic Liaison

Profile Image
Judy Fugate
Contact Info
Academic Liaison
William T. Young Library
Phone: 218-1243
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip