Source EvaluationPrimary vs. Secondary SourcesTypes of Periodicals
PlagiarismParaphrasingCitation StyleWorks Cited ExamplesCopyright
This is the "Electronic and Print Resources" page of the "HIS 574: Diplomacy and Foreign Relations of the U.S. to 1919" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIS 574: Diplomacy and Foreign Relations of the U.S. to 1919  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/his574 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Electronic and Print Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Request Books

If you come across a book you need for your research and UK Libraries does not own it, you can ask Judy Fugate to purchase it or you can request it through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.

 

Electronic Resources

Foreign Relations of the United States Series (FRUS)
"The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. The volumes published over the last two decades increasingly contain declassified records from all the foreign affairs agencies.

Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy...." This quotation is taken from the home page of the Office of the Historian of the U.S. Department of State.

The series is published in paper, but many of the volumes have been digitized either by the Department of State or the libraries at the University of Wisconsin at Madison or the University of Illinois at Chicago. The Department of State volumes begin with 1945/50 while those digitized by the University of Wisconsin and Illinois at Chicago cover the years 1861-1960. Many volumes published since 1945 are available online on the State Department website that is maintained by the University of Illinois at Chicago. A full description of Foreign Relations of the United States, including a listing of the online FRUS volumes, is available from the Office of the Historian.

 We have these in paper in the Government Publications section of Young Library (call number S1.1).

The American State Papers provides the most comprehensive coverage of U.S. government records relating to foreign affairs prior to 1861.  We have these in paper, but they are included in the online Serial Set from ProQuest Congressional Publications and FDsys.

America: History and Life
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide, including selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities. Over 90% of the articles included are published in English-language journals.

American Memory
Archival collections from the Library of Congress.  Browse and search. Topics:  Advertising, African American History, Architecture/Landscape, Cities/Towns, Culture/Folklife, Environment/Conservation, Government/Law, Immigration/American Expansion, Literature, Maps, Native American History, Performing Arts/Music, Presidents, Religion, Sports/Recreation, Technology/Industry, War/Military, and Women's History.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Comprehensive resource for theory and research in international affairs.

Congressional Publications
Covers 1789 - present.

Digital National Security Archive
Full-text of declassified documents relating to U.S. foreign and military affairs.

Historical Abstracts
Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).

Academic Liaison

Profile Image
Judy Fugate
Contact Info
Academic Liaison
William T. Young Library
Phone: 218-1243
Send Email
 

Chat With Me

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip