This is the "Getting Started With Your Project" page of the "LA 206: Contemporary Landscape Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LA 206: Contemporary Landscape Architecture  

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/la206 Print Guide Email Alerts
Getting Started With Your Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Process Overview

The research process typically includes five broad steps. Most often you complete one step before moving onto the next. However, there may be times when you will need to return to a previous step or complete multiple steps simultaneously. (This table of contents will take you to a different guide--just use your return button to come back to the LA 206 guide.)

Step 1. Develop Your Topic
Select a Topic | Develop Research Questions | Identify Keywords

Step 2. Search Strategies
Find Background Information | Refine a Topic | Use Effective Search Strategies

Step 3. Find Credible and Relevant Sources
Find Books | Find Videos and Images | Find Scholarly Articles | Find Popular and Newspaper Articles | Find Websites

Step 4. Evaluate Information
Evaluate Sources | Primary v Secondary Sources | Types of Periodicals

Step 5. Comply with Legal, Ethical and Moral Standards
Plagiarism | Paraphrasing | Citation Styles | Works Cited ExamplesCopyright

 

Did you Find this Guide Useful

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Beginning Your Project

Searching for information really begins with a good articulation of what you are looking for.  The time spent searching for information is directly related to the work done to prepare for the search. 

The first step is to define your topic.  If the topic is too broad or too narrow you must refine the topic to allow you to do some quality searching.

Once your topic is defined you need to come up with the appropriate vocabulary to do the search. 

Next you need to come up with a search strategy that will allow you to structure your vocabulary in a way that will retrieve relevant information. 

Finally, you must choose the appropriate sources that will provide you with the relevant information.

Some Recommended Sources of Information in Landscape Architecture

  • Books
    InfoKat provides access to all of the books and journal titles made available by UK Libraries.
  • Journal articles
    If you don't know where to start, use the keyword function (2nd search box) for Electronic Resources.
  • Research Guides by Subject
    Guides that provide links to major resources in various subjects.
  • Research Guide for Landscape Architecture
  • U.S. Government Documents
    Provides links to many resources provided by the U.S. Government.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes over 8,000 publications; almost 7,000 are scholarly journals; full-text available for issues of almost 5,000 publications.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
    Coverage of the scholarly and popular periodical literature, including the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage includes archaeology, architecture, urban design, historic preservation, furniture and decoration, interior design, landscape architecture and urban planning.
  • Art Index
    Indexes articles from periodicals published throughout the world, covering Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, and Video.
  • GreenFILE
    Includes scholarly, government and general-interest resources that discuss the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling. Multidisciplinary, drawing on agriculture, education, law, health and technology literature.

Director of Branch Libraries, Agriculture Liaison, Biology Liaison

Profile Image
Valerie Perry
Contact Info
Agricultural Information Center
N-24 Agricultural Science Center North
Campus 0091
(859) 257-2758
(859) 323-4719 (fax)

Subject Specialties: life sciences, agriculture, biology, IACUC, animal welfare/alternatives
Send Email
 

  Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip