This is the "Getting Started" page of the "MNG 101" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MNG 101   Tags: mining_engineering  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/mng101 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Senior Library Technician

Profile Image
Karalea Lane
Contact Info
Send Email
 

MNG101 In-Class Assignment

For this class you will only need to use resources within this guide. 

  • Use the article databases below to research your topic.  You may discover one is better for your subject than the other, or perhaps both will be useful. 
  • Use the chart or tutorial on the Non-Scholarly, Trade, and Scholarly Journals tab above to learn the differences between the three types of journals. 
  • Use Coal Mining is Not a Research Question to learn how to refine or develop a research topic.

Introduction to Research

Here you will find a variety of resources that you will be using for your MNG 101 in-class exercise.  Different article databases will work better than others for some topics, so read the descriptions before you select a database.

  • Compendex
    Contains references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
  • Health and Safety Science Abstracts
    Provides a survey of work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene, focusing on risks and hazards across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Interdisciplinary database for all engineering fields, but focused on electrical, computer and electronic applications.
  • NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service)
    Provides indexing to U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. Please note: Some full-text is now available online via the NTIS/GPO FDLP Beta Document Access & Retrieval Test (DART) System.

Head Librarian, Engineering and Science Libraries

Profile Image
Sue Smith, MLS
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
257-7176
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip