How to Use Primary Sources
For tips on how to conduct research using primary sources, click here.
Online Primary Source Collections
These collections contain digitized documents and/or images that can be viewed online.
- The Belle Brezing Photographic Collection, 1868-1983
- Camp Nelson Photographic Collection, 1864
- Collins Family Letters, 1808-1895.
- Confederate and Union Generals Photographic Collection, ca. 1860s
- Confederate Veterans Reunion Photographic Collection, 1895-1924
- Cooper-Phillips Family Papers, 1839-1911, 1857-1866 (bulk dates)
- Elkhorn Distillery Records, 1868-1872
- Hammer Family Photographic Collection, 1860-1900
- Kentucky Postcard Collection, ca. 1890-1990Search using keywords, i.e. "Jefferson Davis", "Abraham Lincoln", "Perryville" etc.
- Lyle Family Photographic Collection, 1863-1927
- Preston-Brown Family Photographic Collection, 1863-1935
- Sallie Price Photographs and Papers, 1860-1950
- Gay Robinson Photographic Collection, 1860-1930
- Winchester Byron Rudy Civil War Diary, October 17, 1861-June 17, 1864Click on "Browse" link located in the "Collection Inventory".
- Smith Family Papers, 1858-1955, 1859-1874 (bulk dates)
- Clinton Jones True Photographic Collection, 1861-1892
- University of Kentucky General Photographic Prints, ca. 1857-2005, 1950-1989 (bulk dates)Search by year.
- Waveland State Shrine Photographic Collection, 1861-1865
- Levi C. Worster Diaries, 1863-1864
- Go to Complete List of Unpublished Primary Source Collections "A-G"
Civil War and Reconstruction Primary Sources Research Guide Table of Contents
*Unpublished Primary Sources "A - G"
*Unpublished Primary Sources "H - O"
*Unpublished Primary Sources "P - Z"
*Unpublished Non-Kentucky-Related Primary Sources
*Digital Books (Published Before 1924)




Loading...
