This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Toxicology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/Toxicology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Basic Information

The following core resources are widely used by clinicians, researchers, and students.  More detailed lists are found under the top row tabs on this Toxicology Research Guide.

  • PubMed (University of Kentucky)
    Includes more than 24 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals.
  • TOXNET
    An integrated set of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
  • Toxicology Abstracts
    Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues by surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and other substances. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered.
  • Material Safety Data Sheets
    A searchable list of chemical substances listing potential hazards (health, fire, reactivity and environmental), plus information about how to work safely with the chemical product and handle emergencies.
  • InfoKat (UK Libraries' Catalog)
    Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 10 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources. While some electronic journals and databases are listed in the catalog, it is best to search for electronic journals in the E-Journals Database and for databases on the Find Databases and Other Electronic Resources page.
  • UK Department of Toxicology and Cancer Biology
    The homepage links to faculty, upcoming events, and research information.
  • UK Department of Biological Safety
    Responsible for programs concerning the safe use of recombinant and/or synthetic nucleic acids, infectious agents, and potentially infectious materials such as human sourced materials in the research and teaching laboratories at the University of Kentucky.
  • UK Department of Occupational Health & Safety
    Responsible for all OSHA-related programs, such as respiratory protection, hearing conservation, bloodborne pathogens, hazard communication, laboratory safety, and many others. The department also conducts fume hood inspections, indoor air quality investigations, accident investigations, and assists units with general safety procedures, such as ladder safety, chemical storage safety, electrical safety, and construction safety.
  • MedlinePlus
    The consumer health website produced by the National Library of Medicine. It provides access to high quality and authoritative information on diseases, drugs, clinical trials, and other consumer health topics. It includes current news items, dictionaries, directories, interactive health tutorials, and encyclopedias.

Pharmacy, Internal Medicine, Oncology Liaison

Profile Image
Frank Davis
Contact Info
Medical Center Library
University of Kentucky
800 Rose Street
Lexington, KY 40536
859-323-3983
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip