Skip to main content

* Art & Art History: art books & exhibition catalogs

art information and art historical research

art call numbers

N  

N1-(9211)  Visual arts

NA

NA1-9428  Architecture

NB

NB1-1952  Sculpture

NC 

NC1-1940   Drawing,  Design &  Illustration

ND 

ND25-3416    Painting

NE

NE1-3002   Print media

NK 

NK1-9990  Decorative arts

NX 

NX1-820      Arts in general

TR 

TR1-1050    Photography

TT 

TT1-999     Handicrafts.  Arts and crafts

  

getting started

The best starting point for art historical research is the Libraries' catalog and your course reserve list. Be sure to check bibliographies & indexes!

more advanced searching

 Although encyclopedias may not be cited in research papers, they often have bibliographies with good sources that are appropriate to cite.  Grove Art Online and several other dictionaries and encyclopedias are provided through Oxford Art Online.  The best database for locating monographs, exhibition catalogs, anthologies, etc., is the Bibliography of the History of Art & International Bibliography of Art.  WorldCat & WorldCat Local are also good databases to search by subject or keyword.  When you are trying to verify titles or other bibliographic information, WorldCat is the ultimate source.  It links directly to InterLibrary Loan, so you can request the materials you find in this database if they are not here at UK.

dissertations & theses

artists' books guide

For more information about artists' books in the Little Library, see the

Other art libraries' catalogs