Books About Artists' Books That You Can Check Out from the Library
The Century of Artists Books by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.3 .D78 2004"Over the last ten years this book has become the definitive text in an emergent field: teachers, librarians, students, artists, and readers turn to the expertise contained on these pages every day."--BOOK JACKET.
Cover to Cover by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.3 .P47 2002Sol Lewitt makes them, Christian Boltanski does too. And Hamish Fulton, Francesco Clemente, Anselm Kiefer, Richard Long, Ulises CarriAn, Lawrence Weiner, Richard Prince, and Andy Warhol. And many, many more. Examining the phenomenon of artist's books, Cover to Cover looks at the history of these bound objects within the context of art history. Concentrating particularly on artist's books created during the heyday of conceptual art, this volume describes the leading motives of publishers, collectors, and buyers, pinpointing to what extent artist's books and catalogs are distinct from one another, and why one genre increasingly contains references to the other. In his essay, Rob Perrae considers issues of presentation and offers a prediction about the future of the artist's book. Published in conjunction with De Beyerd, Breda.
The Book As Art by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.35 .U6 W37 2007Artists' books have emerged over the last 25 years as the quintessential contemporary art form, addressing subjects as diverse as poetry and politics, incorporating a full spectrum of artistic media and bookmaking methods, and taking every conceivable form. Female painters, sculptors, calligraphers, and printmakers, as well a growing community of hobbyists, have played a primary role in developing this new mode of artistic expression.The Book as Artpresents more than 100 of the most engaging women's artist books created by major fine artists such as Meret Oppenheim, May Stevens, Kara Walker, and Renee Stout and distinguished book artists such as Susan King, Ruth Laxson, Claire Van Vliet, and Julie Chen.Culled from over 800 unique or limited-edition volumes held by the National Museum of Women in the Arts, these books explore the form as a container for ideas. Descriptions of the works are accompanied by colorful illustrations and reflections by their makers, along with essays by leading scholars and a lively introduction by the most famous book artist in our culture, best-selling author Audrey Niffenegger. The exquisitely crafted objects in theThe Book as Artare sure to provoke unexpected and surprising conclusions about what constitutes a book.
The Book as Art accompanies the exhibition of the same name at the Museum of Women in the Arts in Washington, D.C., beginning in October 2006.
A Century of Artists Books by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.3 .C38 1994Published to accompany the 1994 exhibition at The Museum of Modern Art, New York, this book constitutes an extensive survey of modern illustrated books. Work by artists from Pierre Bonnard to Barbara Kruger and writers from Guillaume Apollinarie to Susan Sontag. An important reference for collectors and connoisseurs. Includes notable works by Marc Chagall, Henri Matisse, and Pablo Picasso.
Artist Author by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.3 .L37 1998Catalog of a traveling exhibition held at the Weatherspoon Art Gallery, Greensboro, N.C., and five other art museums, Feb. 8, 1998-Dec. 18, 1999. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Beyond the Text: Artists' Books from the Collection of Robert J. Ruben by Call Number: Fine Arts Library N 7433.3 .R83 2010The selection of artists' books presented here, drawn from the collection of Robert J. Ruben, showcases the seemingly infinite variety and high quality of these fascinating objects. Creators of artists' books use type, materials, movement, color, transparency, contrast of texture, and assertive three-dimensionality to convey information in the broadest sense. Rather than embellishing the text, artists' books are the text. They may take various forms: accordion, codex, scroll, box book, pop-up, or tunnel. They may have previously known texts, new texts, or no text at all; the subject matter may be political, argumentative, or humorous.
Making Books by Hand by Call Number: Fine Arts Library Z 271 .M33 2000The craft of book-making goes back as far as the earliest times. Though the techniques are old, the art of book making seems to be growing. This is most likely due to the beauty of handmade books but also the ease with which simple books can be made. Mary McCarthy and Philip Manna provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions to lead both the beginning and experienced crafts person through twelve simple and beautiful book-making projects. WithMaking Books by Handanyone can create elegant, decorative blank books, photo albums, gifts and journals that will last forever.
Artists and Publisher Websites
How to Find Artists' Books Records in InfoKat
To locate materials from the Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library Artists' Books Collection in InfoKat Discovery, follow the following steps:
1. Open InfoKat Discovery , go to "Advanced Search," and type "artists' books" in the search box.
2. Go to the drop down menu and select "Subject"
3. Hit search. This will pull up several list of artists' books grouped by subject heading.
Common subject headings: Artists' books, Artists' books--United States
Items catalogued as part of this collection should have the label "Artists Books Collection, Closed Stacks" in their description. This means the materials are not available in the regular circulating collection, and you must ask the attendant at the desk in order access the materials.
Ex:
Common Subject Headings include:
- Artists' books.
- Artists' books--Bibliography--Catalogs.
- Artists' books--Bibliography--Exhibitions.
- Artists' books--Catalogs.
- Artists' books--Exhibition catalogs.
- Artists' books--Exhibitions
- Artists' books--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Artists' books--History.
- Artists' books--Periodicals.
- Artists' books--United States.
There Are Also Some Artists' Books and Books About Artists' Books in the UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center
Sanger, E.S. and Schilling, W.H.
In Ireland
Special Collections PS 3569 .A535 I6 1988
Tarn, Nathaniel
The Persephones
Special Collections N 7433.4 .T376 P47 2009
Wagener, Richard
California in Relief: Thirty Wood Engravings
Special Collections NE 1112. W33 A4 2009
Book Art Object by Call Number: Special Collections Research Center N 7433.3 .B65 2008Book art object is a record of the first biennial Codex Book Fair and Symposium: The Fate of the Art,Berkeley, California, 2007. The event showcased contemporary artist books and fine press and fine art editions produced by some of the worlds most esteemed printers, designers, book artists, and artisans.The book includes transcripts of the following lectures: Sarah Bodman, Research Fellow, Centre for Fine Print Research, UWE, Bristol: The hybrid lexicon: an overview of contemporary artists publishing in the UK; Robert Bringhurst, poet, translator, and typographer: Spiritual geometry: the book as a work of art; and Felipe Ehrenberg, artist, Mexican diplomat, former publisher of the Beau Geste Press, London: Cutting and pasting: metaphor of life. The volume is superbly illustrated in full color throughout.
This book is in the Special Collections Research Center, Margaret I. King Library. Please ask at the reference desk in the Breckinridge Reading Room on the second floor.
A Memoir of Book Design, 1969-2000 by Call Number: Special Collections Research Center Z 116 .A3 D3 2003In the Special Collections Research Center, Margaret I. King Library. Please ask at the reference desk in the Breckinridge Reading Room on the second floor.
