Engineering Subjects
Here is a list of all the engineering research guides by subject. Use UK Libraries' Research Guides to see a list of all UK Libraries' Research Guides.
Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
Chemical and Materials Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Article Databases
There are several primary engineering databases which contain a lot of information specifically useful to biopharmaceutical engineers. If you need additional subject resources in another field, such as chemical engineering, use the links in the box on the left. Here are the primary databases:
- Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) - Provides citations and abstracts for literature covering algae, fungi, protozoa, and lichens. Scope includes reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants. More Info
- Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) - Medically-oriented coverage in bacteriology with topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Covers clinical findings as well as aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. Pertinent information for environmentalists, medical and veterinary laboratory staff, agricultural researchers, cell biologists, geneticists, and toxicologists. Subject coverage includes aggressins and toxins, animal bacteriology, antibacterial agents, antibiosis, antibiotics, cell structure and function, culture, ecology and distribution, genetics and evolution, human bacteriology, identification, immunology, invertebrate bacteriology, methodology, microbial symbiosis, plasmids, predation, taxonomy, and typing. Print equivalent: Microbiology Abstracts Section B: Bacteriology. More Info
- BioOne - Provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation. More info
- BIOSIS - Encompasses the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included. More Info
- Biotechnology Research Abstracts - Recombined version of three databases: Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts, BioEngineering Abstracts, and Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts. Provides access to international research on biochemical, medical, and microbial technology as applied to bioengineering, medicine, agriculture and environmental science. More Info
- Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts - Covers current research in bone metabolism, tooth development, nerve transmission, muscle contraction, hormone secretion, calcium deficiency and other related biology issues. More Info
- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System - Toxicology data file which contains over 8,000 chemical records with carcinogenicity, mutagenicity, tumor promotion, and tumor inhibition test results.
- Chemoreception Abstracts - Brings together studies relating to the neurobiology, chemistry, and physiology of taste, smell, internal chemoreception, and chemotaxis. More Info
- Compendex - General engineering database on every field of engineering; coverage dates back to 1884. More Info
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) - Covers findings and applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries Major areas of coverage include fermentation, microbial degradation, food microbiology, microbial toxins, plant diseases, post-harvest decay, plant protection, forestry, soil microorganisms, mineral microbiology, protection of materials, hydrocarbons, microbial resistance, and antimicrobial agents. Online version of Microbiology Abstracts Section A: Industrial and Applied Microbiology. More Info
- International Pharmaceutical Abstracts - Reviews and presents pharmaceutical literature. Coverage includes clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. Limited to four concurrent users. More Info
- MedLine - Includes citations and abstracts on such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences), nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care. More Info
- Neurosciences Abstracts - This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's. More info
- Toxicology Abstracts - Covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues by surveying the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and other substances. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered. More Info
- Web of Science - Interdisciplinary science database containing worldwide scholarly research. More info
Head Librarian, Shaver Engineering Library |
Online Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
257-7176
Subjects: engineering, patents
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
257-7176
Subjects: engineering, patents
Send Email
Head Librarian, Agricultural Information Center |
Contact Info:
Agricultural Information Center
N-24 Agriculture Science Bldg
Campus 0091
859-257-2758
859-323-4719 (fax)
Send Email
Agricultural Information Center
N-24 Agriculture Science Bldg
Campus 0091
859-257-2758
859-323-4719 (fax)
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait