Skip to main content

Beginner's Guide to UK Libraries: Finding Articles

A guide to provide basic information on how to use UK Libraries. It includes tips on doing research, library vocabulary and the ability to view the guide in other languages using Google Translate.

Google Translator

Scholarly (Academic or Peer Reviewed Articles)

Find Scholarly Articles Here

We have access to a huge number of article databases. If you're not sure where to start, use a Research Guide for your subject, Ask Us for suggestions, or try Academic Search Complete (search box below), a good general academic database.

Sample search terms for databases

"college campuses" and "student activities"
crowdsourcing and business

"public spaces" and "social values"
universities and basketball arenas

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

EBSCOhost Article Translation

You will be directed to another page with a picture-based directions guide.

View Now

The Libraries subscribe to a huge number of databases and resources.  Sometimes, the full text for an article is not available in the database you are currently searching, but it is available in another resource. The new View Now service will lead you to other options for accessing the full text.  Look for this button in your search results:

When you click View Now, you will be presented with one of the following options:  An immediate link to access full text in another database, catalog information to find a paper copy in the library collection, or a link to complete a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan.