Indexes and Full-Text Online Resources
While other resources listed in this guide include female subjects, the resources below cover them specifically.
- 18th Century Women PlaywrightsSearchable full-text of Eighteenth Century Women Playwrights. General editor, Derek Hughes. 6 volumes. London: Pickering and Chatto, 2001. Includes plays by Delarivier Manley, Eliza Haywood, Mary Pix, Susanna Centlivre, Elizabeth Griffith, Hannah Cowley and Elizabeth Inchbald. The introductory matter for each playwright includes biographical information.
- American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the PresentContains biographical and critical essays on 1,328 American women writers covering all genres and periods of American history.
- Black Women in AmericaHistorical biographical coverage, with current additions in the 2nd ed., including Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Moseley Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge. Nearly 600 entries.
- Distinguished Women of Past and PresentBiographical coverage of historical and current notable women worldwide. Search by subject or name. Includes chronological listings before the 20th century.
- EscritorasContains information on the literature of Spanish American women, including biographical information and interviews.
- Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical CompanionIncludes biographical information on such authors as prominent women writers, including Sor Juana Inez de la Cruz, Mary Wollstonecraft, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Isabel Allende, Margaret Atwood, Doris Lessing, and Adrienne Rich.
- GenderWatch
This link opens in a new window
Repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Archival material dates back to 1970 in some cases. - Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th century American biographical sketches. - North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Shapers of the Great Debate on Women's Rights by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780313338694Publication Date: 2008-10-30Explores the three waves of feminism through the lives of the women who made history in bringing women's issues to the forefront of American society. Joyce Duncan. Greenwood Press.
- Voices from the Gaps
This link opens in a new window
Covers "women writers of color in North America."
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Nearly 15,000 browsable biographical entries.
Special Collections Research Center
A wealth of material can be found concerning women in Special Collections Research Center. The Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History, for example, contains such collections as Women WWII Veterans and Women Coal Miners, among others; these collections contain recorded interviews. Search SPOKEdb, the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History Collection Catalog.