Engineering Databases
General engineering databases. Please see individual research guides by topic for specific databases in your subject area or major.
- IEEE Xplore
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary engineering database covering electronics, electrical engineering, robotics, aerospace, animation, physics, biomedical engineering and more. - Compendex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary engineering database, coverage from 1884 forward. - Engineering Index
- This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline. - Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering database covering foundational knowledge with tools for charts, equations, plotters and graphs. Also includes material properties and equations and formulations. - Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
SCOPUS is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive interdisciplinary database containing scholarly scientific research articles.
- ProQuest Engineering, Materials and Dissertations Article Databases5 Sci-Tech groups of article databases as well as NTIS and PQ Dissertations & Theses Global which are not included in the ProQuest Engineering Collection
- NTIS Database (National Technical Information Service)
- This link opens in a new window
Technical reports and other government documents from the United States agencies and departments. - Knovel
- This link opens in a new window
Knovel is a database of full-text content covering foundational engineering knowledge.
Open Indexes
- engrXivEngineering article pre-prints (submitted papers at all stages of the publication process, mainly before peer-review/publication).
- arXivSearch article pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and electrical engineering. (articles are submitted papers at all stages of the publication process, mainly before peer-review/publication).
How to get full-text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.