Skip to main content

HIS 301: American History Before 1865: Other Resources

Guide to paper and electronic resources for students in Dr. Calvert's section concentrating on American history before 1865. Spring 2013. Calvert.

Biographical Information

If you need a book-length biography of an individual, search InfoKat Discovery using the individual's name as a SUBJECT, e.g., lee robert e.

If you need biographical information but not necessarily an entire book devoted to an individual, consider one of the following electronic databases.

Below are some of the major resources that provide a way to search for biographies and then see the full-text (and images, when available) of the information about the person you found in your search.

For more about finding biographical information, see the Biographical Resources Research Guide.

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and dissertations are extended scholarly essays submitted for a degree or other academic qualification.  Theses and dissertations present original research or in some way pose a theory or question designed to show their expert knowledge of a subject area.   In addition, they have usually undertaken an extensive and comprehensive review of the literature that can act as a summary of research on a topic up to the publication date of the thesis or dissertation.  These bibliographies, along with your own beginning literature reviews, can help you determine what previous scholarship has adequately covered and where you want to direct your research because you have discovered that the question is inadequately covered or you have a unique perspective you would like to present and support.

To identify theses or dissertations written by University of Kentucky graduate students on a topic search: use InfoKat Discovery to find theses and dissertations in either paper or electronic format;

and

For theses or dissertations written at UK as well as other institutions in the U.S., Canada, Britain, and other European countries, search:

Remember that many databases, for example America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts, identify dissertations in their academic areas, too.

Book Reviews

Electronic resources for book reviews:

Reviews in American History provides in-depth reviews of over 30 books in American History per issue.  1973-1995 available through JSTOR; 1995-present available from Project Muse.

Resource available in paper:

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals 1886 – 1974.  Author and title access to more than one million book reviews that have appeared in 459 scholarly journals in history, political science, and sociology. Its strengths are that it covers scholarly journals that might not appear in some of the other indexes or databases and that its period of coverage goes back so far. Also covers books published outside of the United States.  Located in Young Library, Reference Stacks Z1035 .A1 C60
 

For more information on finding book reviews, see Research Guide for Book Reviews.

Newspapers

Databases

and