Smithsonian Global Sound online listening service
- Smithsonian Global Sound
This link opens in a new window
Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. Topics included traditional, ethnic, and contemporary music from around the world; poetry, spoken word, and instructional recordings in numerous languages; and documentary recordings of individuals, communities, current events, and natural sounds.
Ages 3 and Up! a children's radio program
" Ages 3 and Up! " is a children's radio program by Amberly Warnke airing Saturdays from 8-9 AM on WRFL, 88.1 FM in Lexington KY. It plays kid friendly pop, rock, jazz, poetry, musical stories, classics, folk and bluegrass, vintage recordings, g-rated comedy, cartoon soundtracks and pretty much any other kind of children's music she can get her hands on. One of the few radio programs in the country aimed specifically for children (but enjoyable for all ages).
See a great article about Amberly and the program in the Chevy Chaser Magazine, June 3, 2010.
American Music and African American Music
- American Music
- This link opens in a new window
online music databases. American Music is a historical database that allows people to hear the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. African American Song, included in American Music, documents the history of African American music through its collection of jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives.