Skip to main content

Evidence-Based Resources: Get Articles

Locating Systematic Reviews in PubMed

You can specifically search for systematic reviews in PubMed by using the Clinical Queries link from the PubMed homepage. 

Click on Clinical Queries, then type in your search terms in the search box. Results will all be systematic reviews such as Cochrane Reviews, for example.

Obtaining Full-Text Articles in Library Databases

When you search for articles in one of the library's databases, you will have access to the electronic copies of articles to which the library subscribes. You should use the link .    Using this link, you can access the electronic copy of the item if we subscribe to the journal electronically. To determine if the library has the journal issue in a print version, search the InfoKat Discovery Library Catalog. Iif the library does not subscribe to that particular journal/issue, request the item through interlibrary loan. (Note:  you must establish an account in ILLiad, the interlibrary loan service, in order to request items not owned by UK.)

Journal Articles via PubMed

PubMed is the premier health sciences database.  Since articles appear in chronological order in the search results, you know you are getting the most recent information. By accessing PubMed via the UK MCL, you should seamlessly have access to the full-text journals to which the library subscribes. 

You can do a general search in PubMed using text words or using the subject headings (MeSH). You can also limit your search to such aspects as special populations and journal types such as children or the elderly and systematic reviews or meta-analyses.  Searches in PubMed, especially when using these features, tend to be more "specific" than Google searches that tend to be more "sensitive."

Here are some brief tutorials to assist you in performing those searches. 

PubMed Simple Subject Search (1 min., March 2013)

Use MeSH to Build a Better PubMed Query (3 min., YouTube video, February 2013)

Advanced Search Builder (2 min., YouTube video, December 2011)

PubMed: The Filters Sidebar (2 min., YouTube video, December 2012)

Changing Your Default Display Settings (2 min., March 2013)

Obtaining Full-Text Articles

If you have have a citation for a journal article that you would like to obtain, check for the full-text availability through the E-Journals Database:

Additional PubMed Help and FAQs

For more detailed PubMed help and answers to FAQs like "how do I save my search results," go to the Quick Start guide.

Google Scholar

Printable PubMed Tri-Fold Brochures