UK Libraries Quick Links*
- InfoKat Discovery This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple UK library resources simultaneously, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content. InfoKat Discovery does NOT include all of the journal articles available through our databases.
- My Accountin InfoKat Discovery
- E-Journals A-Z
- This link opens in a new window
Title-by-title database of the journals available full-text in electronic form through University of Kentucky Libraries' subscriptions. The primary purpose of the E-Journals Database is to give you access to specific, known journal titles you are seeking. (Search for JOURNAL here, not ARTICLE.)
The Art of Browsing
While technology and the creation of the online library catalog make searching for resources easier for us, nothing compares to browsing the stacks and finding materials you may have overlooked online. Broaden your horizons and expand your research the old-fashioned way--browse the following areas at UK libraries to find books on your subject:
- B (Young Library - 4th Floor) Islamic Philosophy, Anthropology
- BP, F, JC (Young Library - 4th Floor) Fiqh, Hadith, Quran Commentaries, Shiite, Sufism, Sunni Politics
- HQ (Young Library - 4th Floor) Women in Islam
- KBP (Law Library) Islamic Law
- N (Fine Arts Library) Islamic Art and Architecture
- NA (Design Library) Islamic Architecture
- PK,PJ, PS (Young Library - 4th Floor) Arabic Literature (Fiction, Language, Poetry)
- Z (Young Reference - 2nd floor) Print Journal Indexes
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.
E-books
Here are some great places to find electronic books, or "E-books," in the areas of Islamic Studies. (NOTE: Most E-books found in the collection below may also be found by searching InfoKat Discovery.)
- eBook Collection (from EBSCOhost)
This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary collection containing more than 42,000 E-books, including 2,000+ in the areas of philosophy and religion.
Overview of InfoKat Discovery
Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.
Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!
Selected Books
Muslims: Their Religious Beliefs and Practices by Call Number: BP161.2 .R53 2012Publication Date: 2011This new edition has been comprehensively updated and for the first time features a companion website with extensive links to additional reading and resources to help deepen student understanding of the subject. Muslims offers a survey of Islamic history and thought from the formative period of the religion to modern times.
Islam in the World Today by Call Number: BP161.2 .D46613 2010Publication Date: 2010Considered the most authoritative single-volume reference work on Islam in the contemporary world, the German-language Der Islam in der Gegenwart, currently in its fifth edition, offers a wealth of authoritative information on the religious, political, social, and cultural life of Islamic nations and of Islamic immigrant communities elsewhere.
