Skip to main content

Education and Kinesiology and Health Promotion: Journal Articles

Here are the links to your tools for finding books, articles and more.

Your Quick Links

Links to E-Journal Articles

In your database results, look for the View Now at UK button.  This button links you to choices of E-Journal access-- if we don't have e-access, then try InfoKat Discovery or order a copy using ILLiad.  Look for the View Now link in Google Scholar, too (if off-campus set your Scholar preferences to University of Kentucky; see these instructions).

I've got a cite to something... how do I get the thing?

Searching tips

Approaches to searching:

  • Your own keywords; use of wildcards and boolean combinations can improve your results.  Use this worksheet for thinking up keywords.
  • The database's index terms:  retrieve results with precision; works well when your keywords might match many synonyms.  Look for these terms in the descriptors or subjects field of a full record.  Search for these terms in a database's thesaurus or browse for them in a field's index.
  • An article's cited references:  no need to think up keywords:  find the record for a good article then search to find articles that have cited it; find related articles (searches for refs in common).  Web of Science Core Collection is the best database for this.
  • Ask other readers:  ask your professors, e-mail authors, hang out at conferences.
  • Browsing:  good old-fashioned technique; related books tend to be shelved together; also through serendipity you might find useful sources.

The Major Education Databases

Colossal databases covering all subjects, including Education

Databases indexing older articles... get the historical perspective

Info on the journals themselves

Don't fall for predatory journals.  See this advice from the reputable journal Nature.  And this advice from Science!

Education Librarian

Sarah Vaughn's picture
Sarah Vaughn
Contact:
Education Library

Dickey Hall

859-257-7977