Skip to main content

* Business: For Faculty

This guide contains information on how to do research in the field of business.

Datasets

Help Available
If you need help manipulating or analyzing your data, see Information Technology's Statistical Software page.

Datasets Available:  UK Libraries has several sources for datasets in the business and financial areas.  

International Financial Statistics
Officially reported, internationally comparable macroeconomic statistics.

Direction of Trade Statistics
HF1016 .I652b (Ask at Reference Desk)
Provides critical data on the value of merchandise exports and imports between each country and all its trading partners.  It reports total bilateral and multilateral exports and imports aggregated at national or regional group level.

Contains over 80 geographic data layers from the city's enterprise GIS (updated on a quarterly basis).

Online Sources

Introduction

As the Academic Liaison for Business and Economics, I welcome questions and comments from all Business and Economics faculty as well as faculty from related fields.  Please bring me any questions, concerns, or suggestions you have about library resources or services.

Research Resources

Research Consultation
If you have a research question or problem that you would like to discuss with me, we can schedule a consultation session.  To schedule a research consult, fill out the following form.

EndNote
EndNote is a citation management software package that can help you keep your research materials organized as you research and write.  Many of our Business and Economics (and other) databases will export citations directly into EndNote.
The software is available though the UK Download page.
More detailed information about Endnote is available here.

Request a Purchase
If there are materials (books, datasets, databases) that you would like to see added to the UK Library collection, please contact me at:

 

phessel@email.uky.edu

 

I am happy to consider any request.

 

Interlibrary Loan
If the University of Kentucky Libraries does not have access to an article or book that you need, our Interlibrary Loan service can usually borrow a copy from another library for you to use.  Information about the service is located here.  If you have not used the service before, click on the "First Time Users" tab.

Teaching Resources

Information Literacy Resources 
I am available for In-Class or In-Library Information Literacy Sessions tailored to your class needs.  I can spend a class period (or whatever amount of time you would like) going over the library resources with your students.  I am also open to opportunities for more in-depth partnering with Business and Economics faculty on more long-term research projects for your class.
Contact me via email at:  phessel@email.uky.edu or fill out the Information Literacy Instruction Request form.

Also, consider linking to one of our research guides through your Blackboard page -- there are several business-related subjects (including Accounting, Business, Economics, Marketing, and New Product Development).  Also, if your students need help with researching basics, you can refer them to the Guide to the Research Process.

Course Guides
I can create an individualized course guide tailored to your specific course.

Student Consultations
Please refer your students to me when they need research help.  I am always happy to work with graduate and undergraduate students on any sort of business-related research question.  They can contact me via email, phone (218-1840), or by filling out a consultation request form.

Reserve Material
If you would like to place physical or electronic materials on reserve for your students, information is available here.

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.  WRDS provides researchers with access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface. This hosted data service has become the locus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.  WRDS provides a single interface to access Compustat, CRSP and other large financial and economic data files.
 
In order to use WRDS, you must first create an account (WRDS is only available to facutly and graduate students).  Go to the WRDS registration page.   Fill out the account request form. Select the University of Kentucky from the pull down menu and select the appropriate option for affiliation type. Use your UK email address, not a gmail or other account. Click the "Register" button.  Within the next day or so, you will  receive an email with further instructions