Business and Economics Liaison
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409
Databases
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld reports contain key statistics and analysis for over 700 U.S. industries, including industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, market share and characteristics, and more. Browse by industry or search by keyword to access these comprehensive reports. - First Research Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Search for "Industry Profiles" by typing the name of the particular industry in the top search box and the term "industry profile" below. - Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
- Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
To find links to industry snapshots, click the "Companies/Markets" tab at the top of the page, then click the "Industry" tab. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and used in papers or presentations. - Dun and Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
- This link opens in a new window
Industry benchmarking data compiled from Dun & Bradstreet's database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
NAICS and SIC
The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) are numerical classification systems created by the United States government. These systems are used to group/classify like companies into industries for the purposes of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. The SIC system was originally developed in the 1930s and was last updated in 1987. The NAICS system was first released in 2002, updated in 2007 and last updated in 2012.
While NAICS has "officially" replaced SIC, many business directories and databases still use one or both of the systems. Therefore, it is important to know about both SIC and NAICS.
- The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) consists of four digit numbers that apply to a company based on the type of products or services it produces.
- An example of an SIC Code is: 5812 = Eating Places
- The newer North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) employs six digits to allow for a more detailed system of industry classification.
- An example of a NAICS Code is: 722110 = Full Service Restaurants
Some library databases, books, and web sites allow you to search using SIC and/or NAICS codes. It is very helpful to know what your industry code is before starting your research in Library and government resources.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
This link opens in a new window
Published on-line by the Economic Census. Contains detailed descriptions and a searchable index for the 2012, 2007, 2002 and 1997 NAICS Manuals.
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) SystemSite maintained by the United States Department of Labor Contains detailed descriptions and a searchable index for the 1987 version SIC manual.
Government Resources
- Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau in years ending in 7 and 12. Much of the information is also available via Explore Census Data.
- County Business PatternsCounty Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll. This data is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets. Government agencies use the data for administration and planning.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industries at a GlanceBrowse through the list of available industry profiles.
- Current Industrial ReportsThe Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
- data.census.govThe U.S. Census Bureau’s new platform to access detailed tables and maps for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, American Community Survey, and more. Users can generate simple visualizations, extract reports, and explore census data by theme or topic. data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more. data.census.gov replaces American FactFinder, which was retired on March 31.
Industry Resources
- Standard & Poor's Industry SurveysCall Number: Latest 2 years are in Ready Reference on the 2nd floor. Older volumes located on 3rd floor. HC106.6 .S74
Industry Overviews
Encyclopedia of American Industries, 7th edition- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2018Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging IndustriesProvides information about the inception, emergence and current status of new and established industries and business segments that are pioneering new technologies, introducing break-through marketing strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets. Consists of detailed profiles newer industries, such as biometrics, risk management services, satellites, specialty tourism, and others.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2017Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.
- Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product, the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Emphasizes manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, automobiles, appliances, business equipment, home furnishing and sporting goods.
- First Research Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states. - Value Line
- This link opens in a new window
Industry information is located under the dropdown menu at "Stocks" on the front page.
Ratios
- Dun and Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
- This link opens in a new window
Provides 14 financial ratios for 800 products and services, arranged by SIC code for public and private companies. Data can be exported into spreadsheet format. The print version of this source is Duns Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Restricted to five simultaneous users.
- RMA Annual Statement StudiesCall Number: HF5681.B2 R6Contains financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Subscription cancelled after 2013/2014.