Skip to main content
Banner Image

History: British History

Databases

Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Dictionary of National Biography
Also listed under the title: Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Early English Books Online

Empire Online

Gale News Vault
Combined search of the following Gale resources:

Times Digital Archive

Choose any combination of these resources for your combined search. You can also limit your search in several ways:

  • By publication section: Advertising; Arts, Sports, and Leisure; Business; Editorial and Commentary; News; & People
  • To documents with images only
  • By publication date, title, or place of publication

Search options include searching keyword (the first 50 words of the documents, including the title), the full-text of the documents, or just the title of the publication or document.

Provides access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003
Full color facsimile run of over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces. Full-text searchable and browsable individual issues, including specials and supplements. Articles and pages can be saved in the marked list then bookmarked, e-mailed and printed. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers

19th Century MasterFile
Includes Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906); Stead's Index to Periodicals (1890-1906); Palmer's Index to the Times of London 1880-1890);  Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Commons, 1803-1830; Hansard's Index to Debates, House of Lords, 1803-1830.

Readers' Guide Retrospective

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: a transnational archive

Virginia Company Archives

Newspapers and Journals Online

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive Backfile
Newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides, and books from London, the British Isles and the colonies by the Rev. Charles Burney. Coverage: 1600-1799.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2010

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2009

New York Times Historical Edition (NYT)
Coverage: 1851-2011. Current issues are available via LexisNexis from June 1980 - .

Mircrofilm Collections

The Archives of the British Labour Party. Series 1: National Executive Committee minutes of the Labour Representation Committee, 1900-06 and Labour Party since 1906

The aristocracy, the state, and the local community: the Hastings Collection of manuscripts from the Huntington Library in California

British Literary manuscripts from Cambridge University Library. Series One: the Medieval Age, 1150-1500

Civil disturbance, chartism and riots in nineteenth century England: disturbance papers selected from PRO class HO 45

Colonial discourses. Series One: Women, travel, and empire. 1660-1914. Part 1: Early travel accounts by women and women's experiences in India, Australasia, and Canada

Colonial discourses. Series One: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914. Part 2: Women and "the Orient"

Colonial discourses: Series One: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914. Part 3: Women and "the Orient"

Colonial discourses. Series One: Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914. Part 4: Women, the Americas and world travel

Colonial discourses. Series Three: Colonial fiction, 1650-1914, part one

Crown servants. Series One: The papers of Thomas Wentworth, 1st Earl of Strafford, 1593-1641 from Sheffield City Libraries

Eighteenth Century English Provincial Newspapers

Masculinity: men defining men and gentlemen, 1560-1918

Papers from the Mass-Observation Archive at the University of Sussex

Radical politics and the working man

The Rawlinson manuscript collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940. literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 1: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940. literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 2: Romantic friendships & lesbian relationships in literature and history

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940: literary, medical and sociological perspectives.  Part 3: Erotica, 1657-1889, from the Private Case Collection at the British Library, London

Sex and sexuality, 1640-1940: literary, medical and sociological perspectives.  Part 4: Erotica, 1890-1908, from the Private Case Collection at the British Library, London

Slave Trade Journals and Papers

The Suffragette fellowship collection from the Museum of London

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: advice books, manuals, and journals for women: Parts 1-4, Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: advice books, manuals, and journals for women: Part 5: Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford

Women and Victorian values, 1837-1910: Part 6, Sources from the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds: works on household management and domestic economy

Women's Autobiographies from Cambridge University Library

Women's Language and Experience, 1500-1940: Women's diaries and related sources

Working Women in Victorian Britain: the diaries and letters of Arthur J. Munby (1828-1910) and Hannah Culwick (1833-1909) from Trinity College, Cambridge

Unpublished state papers of the English Civil War and interregnum

Academic Liaison

Judy Fugate
Contact:
Academic Liaison

William T. Young Library

Phone: 218-1243

Ask a Librarian