Skip to main content
Banner Image

Social Work: Getting Started

A very basic guide to help you with your social work research from choosing search tems, formulating search strategies, executing the searches in appropriate databases and choosing the best resources you identifiy on your social work research topic.

Popular Links

Information Sources

Research typically involves identifying and using a variety of sources, including

  • encyclopedias and dictionaries;
  • books;
  • articles from newspapers, magazines and journals;
  • statistical sources, government publications; and
  • videos and other a/v materials
  • websites.

The tabs across the top of this page will help you navigate this guide and find the resources you need to identify information sources in Social Work and related fields. 

Primary Subject Indexing and Abstracting Database of Social Work Resources

Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this comprehensive collection offers extensive coverage of more than 850 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. This database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization.  Limited to four concurrent users.

Ask a Librarian

Reference and Information Services

Roxanna Jones
Contact:
William T. Young Library

(859) 218-1324

Responsibilities: General Reference, Information Literacy and Library Instruction, Reference Collection Management, Academic Liaison for Social Work
Subjects:Social Work

Basic But Important

Before beginning your research, make sure you understand your assignment. Not understanding all aspects of your assignment from the intellectual content required to the length, style and due date can hamper your research and even adversely affect your grade. 

Annotated Assignment Prompt

Once you understand everything required for the successful completion of your assignment, you can begin the research process.  If you need to review any of the steps in the research process, you can review Research 101:  Understanding the Research Process.