Skip to main content

* Library and Information Science: Databases

For students in the UK Library & Information Science master's program or anyone with an interest in library science

Primary Databases

Below are two primary databases you'll use for research in library science at UK, though you'll want to consult others based upon your topic. The next section suggests addtional databases for you to consider, or you might look through all database subscriptions at UK, though keep in mind we have well over 400!

Academic Search Complete Search Results

While this clickable image is focused on Academic Search Complete, the search results you'll get in Library Literature or LISTA will look quite similar as they all use the EBSCOhost platform. The image below provides pop-ups explaining important elements of search results.

 

Academic Search Complete Search Results

 

Other Useful Databases

Finding a Known Item

What if you are asked to find a specific article for class? This 90 second video will detail how to find a specific article and a specific book at UK Libraries.

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Google Scholar

It's a great idea to check Google Scholar along with other databases. Follow these instructions to connect Google Scholar results to UK's full text holdings.