Searching Databases for Country-Specific Information
Most subject-specific databases include coverage of specific country information, so you can select appropriate topical databases using the Research Guides by Subject and the search for your country and topic within those databases.
When an item has a specific-country focus, many databases indicate the country in the subject search (sometimes called the descriptor or subject heading), but others use a specific geographic label you can use to search for country information; this may be presented in a drop-box or on an Advanced Search screen. Use that label to include specific countries in your search. Here are some primary databases and a listing of the "fields" in which they list the country information:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Select 'geographic terms' (GE) in the drop-box. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
(Select region/country from map or continent list.) - Agricola
- This link opens in a new window
Agricultural Resources.
(Select 'geographic terms' (GE) in the drop-box.) - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
(Select 'geographic terms' (GE) in the drop-box.) - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Current news, global market activity, the latest business developments, and local, regional and international perspectives on business issues. Provides access to over 9,000 sources from over 150 countries, including newspapers, journals and magazines, newswires, and company reports.
(Use the 'Region' tab on the left side of the main screen.) - GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental database.
(Select 'geographic terms' (GE) in the drop-box.) - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
(Select 'geographic terms' (GE) in the drop-box.) - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
(Use the 'Country Subject' button.) - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- This link opens in a new window
Downloadable data sets.
(Click on the 'Find & Analyze Data' box; you will have the option to 'Browse by geography.') - International Financial Statistics (Country Selection)
This link opens in a new window
(Select 'Country' or 'Regions and Groups.'') - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
(You have the option to 'Search by Content Type' then check 'Country Information.') - PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of and international agencies from over 120 countries throughout the world. Search your country as a descriptor for a more focused search. You can also choose the "Search Tools" tab to select the Thesaurus and search your country there--it will provide specific sub-topics for you to consider for your search. - Polling the Nations
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of questions and responses from over 15,000 surveys worldwide.
(Choose "SEARCH" on the upper right of the screen, then select your country or region from the drop-box labeled 'UNIVERSE: Geographic area covered by the survey.') - Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and presents tabular statistical data.
(Select your country/region from the left hand facet 'Countries & Regions' after you do a topic search.) - International Trade Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
(Choose country from drop-box: 'Country by 1-digit, 2-digit and 3-digit SITC.') - World Development Indicators (WDI) Online
- This link opens in a new window
(Use the "By Country" tab at the top of the screen.) - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Search your country as a descriptor for a more focused search. You can also choose the "Search Tools" tab to select the Thesaurus and search your country there--if it has a bracketed plus sign next to it, you can click the country name to discover broader and narrower geographic terms for you to consider for your search.
Current Events
Many of the databases in this guide cover current events, but the resources listed below are excellent starting points.
For current events and coverage of core research journals in most subject areas, use
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) discussed in the Country Resources in the Libraries' Catalog tab above.
Another excellent source of current information, particularly about the relationships among various countries, is
Other Current Events Sources
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. - Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- This link opens in a new window
Presents informed, differing views on each side of an issue and to help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources. - TOPICsearch
- This link opens in a new window
Current events database for the exploration of social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other current topics. Full-text of articles from more than 475 sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. To facilitate research, each article is associated to a main TOPIC or CURRENT EVENT. The returned result list groups articles into specific sources.
Also consider newspapers for current events and analysis; see the