Skip to main content

High School Research Guide: InfoKat Discovery

Using and transitioning to the University of Kentucky Libraries from your high school libraries

Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery

InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.

InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.

BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.

If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.

The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.

If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.

If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check the map of the libraries locations and the hours for each library.

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!

Information is at your Fingertips

There are several websites available to you as a Kentucky resident in order to find the specific books or articles you need. You just need to know where to look! Back in high school you had your online media resource where you were able to look up books and periodicals, but there are actually more resources available to you. Including the resources your community provides.

    The Kentucky Virtual Library is set up to assist people in the state of Kentucky to find books that they are in need of. It also provides useful databases that would be helpful on your research. The library will also provide information about your local library and what kinds of books they carry.

   The University of Kentucky has a variety of different libraries, and most people don't realize the amount of information at their fingertips. For example, if you're doing a paper on events that happened in Bourbon County back in the early 1900s, or you are interested in genealogy, the Special Collections library at UK will be of help. All of the libraries at UK are available by phone, and one call can mean the difference in your research. Don't be intimidated by the amount of knowledge available to you, use it!