A short definition:
The process of planning and executing the conception, pricing, promotion, and distribution of ideas, products, and services to create exchanges that will satisfy the needs of individuals and organizations. Marketing a product involves such tasks as anticipating changes in demand (usually on the basis of market research), promotion of the product, ensuring that its quality, availability, and price meet the needs of the market, and providing after-sales service.
From: A Dictionary of Business and Management. Ed. Jonathan Law. Oxford University Press, 2009 - Available from Oxford Reference.
UK Libraries currently subscribes to the following newspaper databases, all of which contain a great deal of marketing news:
Access World News
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources. Also includes the section "Access Business News," which includes a current subscription to the Economist, among many other papers.
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes a section for "Business News Publications."
Wall Street Journal
Daily newspaper provides coverage of U.S. and International financial and business news. Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest.
Internet Marketing Blog
Blog entries on topics concerning the Internet and marketing.
A "resource and reference site for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas." Includes feature articles, a tutorial on writing a market plan, and links to articles.