Skip to main content

African American Resources - General: Getting Started

Library resources that support the study of African Americans.

General Information

What are you searching for?

 

an article title = The We and the us   

Kijana Crawford and Danielle Smith (2005). The We and the us: mentoring African American women. Journal of Black Studies, 36(1), 52-67. 

  

a journal title = Journal of Black Studies

Crawford, Kijana and Danielle Smith (2005). The We and the us: mentoring African American womenJournal of Black Studies, 36(1), 52-67. 

 

a book title = Langston Hughes: poet of the Harlem Renaissance

C. M. Hill (1997). Langston Hughes: poet of the Harlem Renaissance. New Jersey: Enslow Publishers.

 

a newspaper title = Afro-American Mission Herald

Chilembwe, J. (1900, December). British East Central Africa, September 21, 1900. Afro-American Mission Herald. Retrieved from Kentucky Digital Library.

 

a case study = Nineteenth Century review of mental health care for African Americans

Lowe, Tony B. (2006). Nineteenth Century review of mental health care for African Americans. Journal of Sociology & Social Welfare, 33(4), 29-50.

 

photographs and digital images = African American women

"Brooks Bridge School, Chambers County"; a group of African American women standing outside in front of a building. Cora Wilson Stewart Photographic Collection in the Kentucky Digital Library [online]. Print photograph available at the University of Kentucky Libraries, Audio-Visual Archives. 

african american women

I want...

Start your search online using the library catalog and list of databases to locate articles, case studies, photo images, books, and the titles of journals.

ON-LINE ARTICLES

A. Find the appropriate collection or database, then search for articles.

B. Find a particular journal or newspaper title, the search for articles.

CASE STUDIES

Case studies can be found in various journal databases and in books. 

PHOTOGRAPHS AND DIGITAL IMAGES

Find the appropriate collection or database, then search for the particular type of image you want.

BOOKS

Search the online catalog for both paper books and electronic books.

JOURNAL TITLES 

Search the online catalog for journal titles. 

Librarian

Reinette F. Jones's picture
Reinette F. Jones
Contact:
Rm 403, King Library Building

Lexington, Kentucky 40506-0456

(859) 257-6042

Get Help

 Ask a Librarian

Ask for assistance from Young Library Reference Librarians.

University of KY

African American and Africana Studies Program

102 Breckinridge Hall

Lexington, Kentucky 40506

Phone: (859) 257-2284

Email: aaas@uky.edu