EPE 703: Preparing Research Proposals: Databases

Includes references, abstracts and selected full-text for 750,000 U.S., Canadian, British, and other European dissertations and theses. (More Info)
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Many of the publications provide the full-text of the first 24 pages.
To search for University of Kentucky dissertations and theses in UK Libraries use InfoKat Discovery.
You may also want to search for electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) through the University of Kentucky Electronic Theses and Dissertations site and/or the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations Find ETDs page.

Provides access to c. 30 databases with citations, abstracts and selected full-text. Includes Academic Search Complete, Eric, PsycINFO, and and other subject-specific resources. Specific databases available through EBSCOhost are listed at the EBSCOhost site and in this directory. It is possible through the main EBSCOhost menu to choose multiple databases and search them all at the same time.

Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals. Includes an Image Collection.

Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.

From the American Psychological Association. Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from nearly 2,000 periodicals in over 24 languages. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Available from EBSCOhost.

Provides full-text for more than 500 journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection. Available through EBSCOhost.

Full-text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.

Searchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

Searchable full-text journal backfile collection. Good source for older journal material. Some journals go back to the 1800s.

Searchable access to approximately 575 full-text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all additional journals in the collection. Available through EBSCOhost.

A valuable, powerful database with somewhat of a learning curve. For this class, I would suggest you use it when you feel comfortable with the above databases. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-), Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-).

Part of Web of Science Core Collection (above). Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines. Also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.

Indexing of literature focusing on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Includes social gerontology and aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. Indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos. Produced by AARP.