Skip to main content

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: Understanding Citations

Ask a Librarian

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s -- HIS 351, Fall 2010

Identify your citation

 

  • an article title = "There was no middle ground": Anne Braden and the Southern Social Justice Movement  

Fosl, Catherine (1999). There was no middle ground: Anne Braden and the Southern Social Justice Movement. NWSA Journal, 11(3), 24-48. 

 

  • a journal title = NWSA Journal

Fosl, Catherine (1999). There was no middle ground: Anne Braden and the Southern Social Justice Movement. NWSA Journal, 11(3), 24-48. 

 

  • a book title = Essays on the American Civil Rights Movement

J. Dittmet et. al. (1993). Essays on the American Civil Rights Movement. College Station: Texas A&M University Press.

 

  • a newspaper title = Charleston Gazette

Unbridled protest eyed in Kentucky. (1964, March 18). Charleston Gazette, p.3. Retrieved from Newspaper Archive Database

 

  • an oral history

Science Hill School for Girls Oral History Project [sound recording]- former students discuss education at Science Hill, a private school in Shelbyville, KY. Includes discussion of the women's movement in 1920 and the civil rights movement. 

 

  •  a database

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - includes a collection of more than 300 biographies, debates, memorandums, bibliographies, etc. related to the civil rights movement beginning in 1909. 

 

    •  photographs and digital images 

Photo from the Kentucky Digital Library - March of Dimes: Polio volunteers: Female dipping ice cream for children after their polio vaccinations - James Edwin Ed Weddle Photographic Collection 1948-1981