Skip to main content
Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s
Search this Guide
Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: Websites
1b. Required Readings
1d. Course Calendar
1e. Course Policies
1f. Journaling, Participation, and Projects
1g. Grading Criteria
2a. Find Background Information
2b. Refine Your Topic
2c. Boolean Operators
3a. Find Books
3b. Find Videos and Images
3c. Find Scholarly Articles
3d. Find Popular and Newspaper Articles
3e. Find Websites
4a. Locate Your Sources
Primary and Secondary Sources
6c. Reference Titles
6d. Other Resources
What Are Their Names?
Creative Commons License
Copyright, Rights and Responsibilities
Ask a Librarian
Email, call, chat, or visit with a librarian
Civil Rights Digital Library
Includes many items related to Kentucky.
A project of Academic Technology at San Francisco State University, includes video and photos. Video of Angela Davis on civil liberty, 1973.
Includes civil rights titles such as Eyes on the Prize.
Highlander Research and Education Center
Located in Tennessee. A catalyst for grassroots organizing, justice, equality, and sustainability.
Historical Publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights
Located at the Thurgood Marshall Law Library. Kentucky is one of the
. Access to full-text documents.
Kentucky Commission on Human Rights
KCHR Hall of Fame
with names and bios of women in the civil rights movement.
Kentucky Commission on Women
Dedicated to elevating the status of women and girls in Kentucky.
Kentucky Revised Statutes - Chapter 344.00
Kentucky general civil rights laws.
KET: Living the Story: the Civil Rights Movement in Kentucky
Kentucky Educational Television. Includes
Oh Freedom Over Me, by John Blewen
1964 Summer Project: selected interviews [online] from the summer workers in Mississippi.
Reporting Civil Rights
Library of America website with bios of writers and reporters, including Kentuckian Elizabeth Hardwick
Sisters in Struggle: Women in the Louisville Civil Rights Movement, 1945-1975
by Virginia M. Smith, University of Louisville
The History Makers
Archival collection that includes more than 100 Kentuckians.
Time Collection - Civil Rights
Time Magazine articles, 1923-present
U.S. Department of Justice - Office of Civil Rights
Office of Justice programs
United States Commission on Civil Rights
Use the search command to find documents pertaining to Kentucky
Women in Kentucky
A collaboration working to increase interest in the history of Kentucky women.
Women Manuscript Collections at U of L Libraries
6d. Other Resources
What Are Their Names? >>
Aug 29, 2017 4:39 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.