Skip to main content
Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s
Search this Guide
Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: Suggested Databases
1b. Required Readings
1d. Course Calendar
1e. Course Policies
1f. Journaling, Participation, and Projects
1g. Grading Criteria
2a. Find Background Information
2b. Refine Your Topic
2c. Boolean Operators
3a. Find Books
3b. Find Videos and Images
3c. Find Scholarly Articles
3d. Find Popular and Newspaper Articles
3e. Find Websites
4a. Locate Your Sources
Primary and Secondary Sources
6c. Reference Titles
6d. Other Resources
What Are Their Names?
Creative Commons License
Copyright, Rights and Responsibilities
Ask a Librarian
Email, call, chat, or visit with a librarian
Selected Databases List
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
From the collections at the Library of Congress and other institutions.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search scanned copies of American newspapers, 1860-1922. Free to all.
Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Biographical coverage of historical and current women; search by name or subject.
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Everyday Life and Women in America, c. 1800-1920
Searchable archive of full-text journals.
Kentucky Digital Library
Gateway to rare and unique digitized collections housed in Kentucky archives.
Kyleidoscope: Explore Kentucky History Online
Avenues for educators to access primary resources regarding the history of Kentucky.
New York Times Historical Edition
Coverage from 1851, excluding the most recent four years.
Notable Kentucky African Americans (NKAA)
University of Kentucky Libraries
Short biographies of notable African Americans with Kentucky roots or ties, organized by profession or subject. Also includes entries for events and locations. Includes links to related resources. Free to all.
Votes for Women
Selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection (1848-1921) of the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Women's Liberation Movement
Taken from the archival collection of Duke University. Focuses primarily on the radical origins of the movement, the second wave of feminism, in the 1960s and 1970s.
4a. Locate Your Sources
Other Resources >>
Aug 29, 2017 4:39 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.