Skip to main content

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: 6d. Other Resources

Ask a Librarian

Bibliography of Other Types of Sources

OTHER TYPES OF SOURCES FOUND IN THE LIBRARY

 

ARCHIVAL MATERIALS

American Association of University Women. Lexington Branch AAUW Records. 1936-1981. [UK Special Collections 1981ua001]

Cantrell, D. Kentucky Through the Centuries: a collection of documents and essays. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt 2005. [UK Special Collections F451 .K43 2005]

Victor Howard Civil Rights Collection. Public Policy Archives. [UK Special Collections - not available online]

Smith, L. H. Pictorial directory of the Kentucky Association of Colored Women. Frankfort, KY, 1945. [available full-text online at Kentucky Digital Library - Printed Books]

New York Society of Kentucky Women, 1906-2002. Housed at the Kentucky Historical Society, collection includes materials from the New York Foundation of Kentucky Women.  

Kentucky Federation of Business and Professional Women's Club Records, 1921-1953. [UK Special Collections]

 

DATABASES

Women and social movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - includes more than 3,700 full-text documents  [at UK] 

Black Women in America - achievements of Black women throughout history, including the civil rights movement. [at UK]

 

VIDEO RECORDINGS

E. F. Williams, et al. Black women in the civil rights movement. West Lafayette, IN: C-SPAN Archives, 2006. [DVD] 

Brokaw, T. and E. Fischer. 1968 With Tom Brokaw. New York: A&E Television Networks, 2008. [Young Media Library - DVD - AV-D6839]

Kentucky Historical Society. Living the story: the civil rights movement in Kentucky. Kentucky, 2001 [Young Media Library - videocassette - AV-V3226]

 

ORGANIZATION RECORDS

Records of the National Association of the Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992 - search the records via LexisNexis, Primary Sources [subscription database at UK].

Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970 - search the records via LexisNexis, Primary Sources [subscription database at UK]. 

Guide to the Fellowship of Reconciliation - Berea Chapter Records, 1936-1955 - online at Kentucky Digital Library. 

 

GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS

Education: 1961 United States Commission on Civil Rights Report 2. US GPO. [at UK CR 1.1: 1961 Book 2]

Civil Rights - The President's Program, 1963. U.S. Congress. Senate Committee on the Judiciary. [at UK Y 4.J 89/2: C49/13/963]

Equal Employment Opportunities for Women Under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. US GPO. [at UK Y3.In8/21:2 Em7]   

Civil Rights Digest. US Commission on Civil Rights. [at UK CR 1.12:]