Skip to main content

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: 6c. Reference Titles

Ask a Librarian

Reference Bibliography

SELECTED REFERENCE TITLES

 

Boehm, R., et al. Papers of the NAACP. Frederick, MD: University Publications of America, 1982-. [Young Library B 94-10] [search records via LexisNexis Academic, Primary Sources - subscription database] 

Bradley, D. et. al. The Encyclopedia of civil rights in America. Armonk, NY: M. E. Sharpe, 1998. [available online]

Burke, J. M. and A. J. Adams. Civil rights: a current guide to the people, organizations, and events. New York: Bowker, 1974.

Burrell, B. C. Women and political participation: a reference handbook. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004. [Young Library HQ1236.5.U6 B875 2004]

Green, J. P. Encyclopedia of American political history: studies of the principal movements and ideas. New York: Scribner, 1984. [Young Library E183 .E5 1984]

Hardy, G. J. American women civil rights activists: bibliographies of 68 leaders, 1825-1992. Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1993. [Young Library JC599.U5 H273 1993]

Hill, R. A. and M. Garvey. The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association papers. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1983-. [Young Library E185.97 .G3 M36 1983] 

Hill, W. B. Federal records relating to civil rights in the post-World War II era. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 2006. [Young Library Govt. Pub.s AE 1.124:113] 

Murray, P. T. The Civil rights movement: references and resources. New York: G. K. Hall, 1993.

Ness, I. Encyclopedia of American social movements. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2004. [Young Library Reference HN57 .E594 2004] 

Phull, H. Story behind the protest song: a reference guide to the 50 songs that changed the 20th Century. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008 [Fine Arts Library ML3551.5 .P58 2008]

Rappaport, H. Encyclopedia of women social reformers. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001. [Young Library Reference HQ1236 .R29 2001]

Sigerman, H. The Columbia documentary history of American women since 1941. New York: Columbia University Press, 2003. [Young Library HQ1420 .C65 2003]