Skip to main content

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: 2a. Find Background Information

Tip!

If you can't find an encyclopedia, dictionary or textbook article on your topic, try using broader keywords or ask us for help.

For example, if your topic is Global Warming, consider searching for an encyclopedia on the environment.

Background Information

Background information can be found in:

  • textbooks
  • dictionaries
  • general encyclopedias
  • subject-specific encyclopedias  
  • article databases.

These sources are often listed on the Find Books tab of our research guides. You can browse a complete list of the Libraries' guides by visiting the Research Guides homepage.

Purpose of Background Research

Once you have identified some key terminology, the next step is to find background information on your topic. Background research serves many purposes.

  • If you are unfamiliar with the topic, it provides a good overview of the subject matter.
  • It helps you to identify important facts related to your topic: terminology, dates, events, history, and names or organizations.
  • It can help you to refine your topic.
  • Background research might lead you to bibliographies that you can use to find additional sources of information on your topic.

Reference Universe

This research tool indexes the contents of the entire reference collection, both print and electronic. 

Owned by the University of Kentucky Libraries.
Reference Universe

START YOUR RESEARCH HERE
(type any word/phrase, then press enter)

Enter your search terms: