Skip to main content

Sisters in the Struggle: Kentucky Women in the Civil Rights Era, 1920s-1970s: 3c. Find Scholarly Articles

  Scholarly vs Popular Articles: Understanding the Difference

Scholarly Articles
·  Are written by professors, researchers or scholars;
·  Are written to inform other scholars of original research or experimentation;
·  Are written in more specialized or technical language;
·  Have footnotes or bibliographies;
·  May contain research findings or data;
·  Are generally available only by subscription;
·  Are lengthy.

Popular Magazine or Newspaper Articles
·  Are written by journalists or reporters;
·  Are written to inform, to persuade, or to entertain;
·  Are intended for a general audience;
·  Usually do not contain bibliographies;
·  Can be purchased at a grocery store;
·  Have glossy covers.

Popular and Scholarly Sources

No Flash plugin installed.

Look for Scholarly Articles Here

Sample search terms for databases
(Type sample search terms here)

child marriage and India

gambling and "economic aspects"
anorexia and treatment
alcohol and (automobile or traffic) and accident*
artificial intelligence and algorithms

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Off Campus Access

UK students, faculty, and staff can access these resources off-campus. 

When prompted to log in, enter your Link Blue ID and password. 

If you have any trouble, check out this information or ask us.