Skip to main content

Globalization: Basic Government Information

Identifies resources for research on economic, environmental, political and social issues from a global perspective.

British Parliamentary Papers

British Parliamentary Publications:  We purchase two series in paper, the Commons and Lords Debates (Young Library-Great Britain-5th floor North Wing, J301. J22). These are verbatim, official reports of what was said in the House of Commons and the House of Lords.  

We also purchase three series in microfiche:  Bills, Commons Papers, and Command Papers (Young International Microforms-2nd floor South Wing).  These series are gradually  being cataloged and classified in LC in order to make them more available to researchers via  InfoKat Discovery is always a good place to start.  In addition, access to both historical and current publications is facilitated by Internet websites such as the official ones indicated below.

Also of interest are. . .

United Nations

United Nations Publications:  The Libraries purchase a microfiche collection of all UN publications that are not copyrighted.  We were a full depository for the UN from 1967 - 1991, but only for publications from the General Assembly, Secretariat, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Trusteeship Council and the International Court of Justice. 

Although we are no longer a UN depository, we are continuing to purchase in paper several of the most heavily used reference titles from the main UN bodies.  They are being cataloged, but retain their UN classification numbers. 

All other publications from quasi-UN organizations such as FAO, WHO, UNESCO, ILO, etc., are not received through the UN depository system.  If the Libraries own such materials, they are received via Serials,Monograph Processing or some other library unit, and are cataloged for the stacks, a reference collection, or a branch library. 

Welcome to the United Nations. "It's Your World" is the official site for information about the history, structure, responsibilities, services and publications of the United Nations.

U.S. Federal Government

Search "globalization AND China" in the following and compare your results.

InfoKat 2 results found searching Subject(china) AND Subject(globalization) AND Keyword Anywhere(gpo) 

Title:China and the future of globalization: hearings before the U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, May 19 and 20, 2005.
Title:
United States-China economic relations and China's role in the world economy :hearing before the Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, April 14, 2005.

Congressional Publications  Full-text documents of congressional publications. 

SARS: Best Practices for Identifying and Caring for New Cases, CIS-NO: 2003-S401-51, CIS-DATE: November, 2003, SOURCE: Committee on Governmental Affairs. Senate, DOC-TYPE: Hearing , DOC-NO: S. Hrg. 108-120, DATE: July 30, 2003, LENGTH: iii+166 p., CIS/Index
United States-China Relations in the Era of Globalization, DOC-TYPE: Hearings -- Digital Collection, HEARING-ID: HRG-2008-FOR-0041, May 15, 2008, 74 pp., ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Full Text Available
China's Impact on the North Carolina Economy: Winners and Losers, Field Hearing in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, DOC-TYPE: Hearings -- Digital Collection, HEARING-ID: HRG-2007-ESR-0005, Sept. 6, 2007, 147 pp., ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Full Text Available
Globalization of R&D and Innovation, Parts I-IV, DOC-TYPE: Hearings -- Digital Collection, HEARING-ID: HRG-2007-TEC-0038, June 12, July 26, Oct. 4, Nov. 6, 2007, 369 pp., ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Full Text Available
Energy Trends in China and India: Implications for the U.S., DOC-TYPE: Hearings -- Digital Collection, HEARING-ID: HRG-2005-FOR-0043, July 26, 2005, 57 pp., ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Full Text Available
Energy Trends in China and India: Implications for the U.S., DOC-TYPE: Hearings -- Digital Collection, HEARING-ID: HRG-2005-FOR-0043, July 26, 2005, 57 pp., ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Full Text Available

United States Agency for International Development (USAID)  is the principal U.S. agency to extend assistance to countries recovering from disaster, trying to escape poverty, and engaging in democratic reforms. Results 1 - 10 of about 571 from usaid.gov for globalization AND china. (0.17 seconds).

For more about searching U.S. government information, see the research guide "U.S. Federal Government Resources."

European Union

 

European Union provides current coverage of European Union affairs, including information on European integration. Consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions, and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.