Skip to main content

WRD 111: Composition & Communication II: Annotated Bibliographies

the second course in the composition & communication sequence, in which students compose written, spoken, and multimedia arguments about public issues. Summer 2010.

What's an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of souces, (a bibliography) in which each source cited is followed by a brief summary and evaluation. The following examples will help you understand how to create your annotated bibliography.
Watch this short video from Brock Library for a nice introduction to annotated bibliographies.

MLA Handbook

Published in March 2009, the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook has been expanded to cover more comprehensively the use and citing of electronic resources.
Purdue Owl: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Citing an e-book   &    Citing a tweet

How to Write an Annotated Bibliography

Annotated references (also called an annotated  bibliography) is a list of sources in which each source cited is followed by a brief summary and evaluation. Your Advice Essay assignment  instructions provide a list of questions to guide you in the writing  of your annotations. The examples will help you understand how to create your annotations.

Bibliography Management Software

EndNote helps you organize and cite your references in many different citation styles.
Free to UK faculty, staff and students through download.uky.edu. Log in with your link blue ID.
EndNote Training
EndNote Technical Support

Zotero is a free and easy-to-use research tool that helps you collect, organize, cite and share your research.
See Zotero's documentation and tutorials.