Skip to main content

Music: Background Information

Lucille C. Little Fine Arts Library

The Lucille Caudill Little Fine Arts Library and Learning Center houses collections and services for art, arts administration, dance, music, photography, and theatre and is the home of the John Jacob Niles Center for American Music.
The Library houses over 142,000 books, scores, and bound periodicals, and over 30,000 audiovisual materials on music, visual art, and theatre.

                                                                                                  

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Print

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Online

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001) also includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002); numerous subsequent updates and emendations; more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (MGG) , print

          

The second edition of MGG was published from 1994 to 2008 as a co-production between Bärenreiter and J. B. Metzler. This edition includes a Subject Encyclopaedia consisting of nine volumes and a Biographical Encyclopaedia consisting of seventeen volumes, each accompanied by an index volume. A Supplement Volume completed the MGG in 2008.

Reference ML100.M92 1994  

Baker's Dictionary of Music

Oxford History of Western Music, Print

Oxford History of Western Music, Online

Oxford History of Western Music Online contains the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music with notes, bibliographies and further readings for all chapters. Links in the online version connect to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.

Cambridge Companions

In addition to over 30 volumes devoted to individual composers, this series covers musical periods, genres, and instruments. Below are just a few of the titles in the Cambridge Companion series:

Oxford Companions