Call Number: CB361 .E52 1999 - Young Library Reference
Publication Date: 1999
Leonardo da Vinci, Machiavelle, Cesare Boria, Elizabeth I, Shakespeare, and Juan de Herrera - figures great and small, famous and little known, all contributed to the outpouring of genius known as the Renaissance. This set of volumes treats the full period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. It contains topical entries and biographies, and alphabetically arranged articles on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, science, and the arts, - revealing how people thought, what they believed and how they lived."
Call Number: PN721 .C66 2006 - Young Library Reference
Publication Date: 2005
Providing a wealth of information, this A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive one-volume reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Covering not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania, Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature is ideal for anyone interested in the literature of the Renaissance. Cultures and languages covered include English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Indian, Islamic, conquest and New World literature, and more. Literary and historical terms are also included.
Call Number: PR2892 .O56 2002 - Young Library Reference
Publication Date: 2002
More than 200 articles, most accompanied by vivid illustrations, combine rich historical detail with informative, insightful descriptions on the form and function of obscure and everyday items found in Shakespeare's works. Students can look up meanings of specific terms and concepts, and readers, researchers, actors, and audiences will enjoy the lively--and sometimes humorous--essays on myriad topics including anatomy, astronomy, clothing, currency, death, entertainment, hunting, medicine, mythology, tools, weapons, and much more. A table of weights and measures illuminates such terms as "cade," "firkin," and "hogshead." Maps pinpoint many of the locations mentioned in Shakespeare's plays and poems. Each term notes in which works the item can be found, and a chronology of historical events referenced in Shakespeare's plays concisely identifies the important events that figure in the plays. Teachers can use the index to find each citation of an assigned play, or use the bibliography and topic guide for assignments and research paper ideas. Going beyond mere definitions, the depth of information and illustrations provided in this encyclopedia will give readers a clear sense of the world that Shakespeare knew and wrote about.
Call Number: PR2965 .S44 - Young Library Reference
Publication Date: 1984 -
Comprehensive coverage of critical interpretations of the plays of Shakespeare. Approximately 90%-95% of critical essays are full text. Each volume includes a cumulative character index, a topic index, and a topic index arranged by play title.
This research tool indexes the contents of the entire reference collection, both print and electronic, owned by the University of Kentucky Libraries.
START YOUR RESEARCH HERE (type any word/phrase, then press enter)
Enter your search terms:
Specialized Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Tools
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
The OED explores the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
An online collection of language and subject reference works on a broad range of subjects. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries as well as English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian.