Skip to main content

New Product Development: Books: Finding & Browsing

Bibliographies

Bibliographies list a variety of sources and are helpful when you want to know what's available in a specific area or would like to find a source that is related to a specific topic. The following books list a variety of great sources that will be useful to you during the research process.  

In addition to the sources listed below, many of the books listed in the "Guides to the Literature" section found under the "Getting Started" tab also provide some excellent bibliographies.  

A to Z Guide to American Consumers: Quick Links to Free Demographics
HB 3505 .R867 2008 
Reference (2nd Floor of Young Library, West Wing)
Provides current links to websites that display demographics for a variety of geographic areas and consumer types. 

 
The Core Business Web: A Guide to Key Information Resources
HD 30.37 .C67 2003
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Lists some great web sources for the business world new product development.  Of course, since the book was published in 2003 and websites change frequently, its contents should not be the considered all that is available on the topic on the Internet.
 
F&S Indexes: United States Annual
Z 7165 .U5 F23 v.2 2006
Reference (2nd Floor of Young Library, West Wing)
This is the most current title, but the publication goes back to 1963 with slightly different titles.  Lists articles containing business information pertaining to companies, industries, products, and applied technology.

InterLibrary Loan

In order to use the Interlibrary Loan service, you must first have an ILLiad account.  On the page linked to below, click on the link for "First Time Users."  Books, as well as other materials not owned by UK, such as articles, CDs, microfilm, etc., can be requested.

Locating Books

Browsing for Books

There are a number of call numbers that pertain to New Product Development, if you would just like to browse for books.  Since New Product Development falls under the category of business and business is considered a social science, the books that will be most useful to you can be found in the Hs on the 4th floor of Young Library.  The following call numbers are the ones that you will find most useful:

HA: Statistics.
HB: Economic Theory. Demography.
HD: Industry. Land Use. Labor.
HF: Commerce.

 

InfoKat Discovery

To find books at the University of Kentucky, search InfoKat Discovery by clicking on this button:

InfoKat lists the holdings of the entire University of Kentucky Library System, in all its locations. Most books are held at William T. Young Library; however, if they pertain to a particular subject outside of the social sciences or humanities, they might be held in a campus subject library. For instance, a book on marketing to hospitals might be held in the Medical Center Library or a book on the art markets might be held in the Little Fine Arts Library.

When you search by subject in InfoKat Discovery for books concerning new product development, use the terms below to get the best results.  Also, to create more specific searches, you can combine subject terms using the advanced search by putting each subject in a separate box joined by "AND." 

InfoKat Discovery Subject Search Terms:
New Products
New Products--Management
Marketing Research
Marketing--Decision Making
Consumers' Preferences--United States

WorldCat

To find virtually all books on any topic (including those not owned by the University of Kentucky), search WorldCat, which contains descriptive records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries, which include most libraries in the U.S. as well as a number of Canadian and European libraries.

Use the link to UK's Interlibrary Loan service within the WorldCat record to conveniently order books that UK Libraries does not own.

 When searching by subject in WorldCat, the terms below will provide the best results for books concerning new product development.  Also, to create more specific searches, you can combine subject terms using the advanced search by putting each subject in a separate box joined by "AND." 

WorldCat Subject Search Terms:
New Products
New Products--Management
New Products--Marketing
Marketing

E-books

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains full-text electronic reference books, things like encyclopedias and almanacs.  It's a great resource if you are away from the library and need a question answered that requires a reference book, something you can't normally check out of the library.

   Off-campus users will need to use their link blue ID and password to login before they can access GVRL.

If you already know the title of the resource you are searching for, enter the name of the resource and then select "Publication Title" from the drop down menu to the left of the search box.  If you search by subject, the following subject headings will provide you will some excellent resources.

Subject Headings:
Product Development
Product Management
Marketing 
Market Research 
Demography


eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is another online resource that can be used to find a variety of e-books, not just reference books. It can be accessed like GVRL, by clicking on the "Electronic Resources" button on the Libraries'homepage, then typing, "eBook Collection" into the search box.  Of course you can also click on the link above.

 Off-campus users will need to use their link blue ID and password to login before they can access the eBook collection.
If you search by subject, the following subject headings will provide you will some excellent resources.

Subject Headings:
New Products
New Products--Marketing
Product Management
Marketing--Planning
Marketing Research

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840

Ask a Librarian