Skip to main content

New Product Development: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionaries

Dictionaries should be your first stop if you are having trouble understanding a term.  However, general dictionaries like Merriam-Webster or Oxford's English Dictionary will not always have the correct definition for business-specific jargon.  To find more complete and relevant definitions, you should try looking in a subject-specific dictionary like the ones listed below. 

If you need help finding a book in our online catalog, click on the tab at the top of the page called, "Books: Finding and Browsing."

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Marketing
HF 5412 .K43 2006
Ready Reference (Behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)

Dictionary of Business Terms
HF 1001 .35247 2006
Ready Reference (Behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)

Dictionary of Business Terms
HF 1001 .C68 1999
Ready Reference (Behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Though this title is older than the previously listed Dictionary of Business Terms, it was published by a different company and contains many more terms that are relevant to product development.

Encylopedias

Encyclopedias are very helpful when first being introduced to a topic.  They provide a base knowledge from which a reader can move on to more specific topics.  General encyclopedias, like Encyclopedia Britannica offer a broad overview of many topics.  Subject encyclopedias are narrower in scope, usually focusing on one subject area and providing more detailed coverage of that topic.

These are some of the encyclopedias that you will find most helpful when trying to understand topics related to new product development.  If you would like information on how to find books using our online catalogs, go to the tab at the top of the page labelled "Books: Finding and Browsing."

General Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Business
HF 1001 .E466 1995
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
This two volume set is an excellent resource for an introduction to a wide variety of business topics. Entries are long and detailed and each entry includes a fairly lengthy bibliography.
 
Encyclopedia of American Business
HF 1001 .E463 2004
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
A more current encyclopedia than Encyclopedia of Business, though shorter, it contains some entries not included in that publication,  including "Market Share" and many entries discussing product development.   
 
Available Online through Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource has a whole section devoted to marketing a great online resource for general business entries. Go to the tab "Books: Finding and Browsing" to find information on how to access online books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. 
 

Subject Encyclopedias

Available Online Through Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource provides excellent entries on trends in new, current industries, great for beginning industrial research. Go to the tab "Books: Finding and Browsing" to find information on how to access online books in Gale Virtual Reference Library.
 
Available Online Through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Has a lot of information new product development in relation to small business owners.  Go to the tab "Books: Finding and Browsing" to find information on how to access online books in Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840

Ask a Librarian