Skip to main content

New Product Development: Finding Articles & Journals

Periodical Journals

The journals that will be of most interest to you will pertain to the industry for which your new product is being developed.  However, the marketing journals below will help you on your way.

Recommended Journals:
Journal of Marketing Research
Journal of Marketing
 

If you are looking for a particular article, there are two places to look to see if we have access to the journal.

To see if UK has access to the article electronically, check in E-Journals A-Z -- you must search this database by the journal title, NOT the article title.

To find out if UK owns a paper copy of the article, check InfoKat Discovery, where you can search by article title and journal title.

If the article is not available either electronically or in paper, you can order it using the Interlibrary Loan Service.

Periodical Indexes and Databases

Periodical indexes can be an excellent way to start investigating new products, companies, and marketing trends. News databases like LexisNexis Academic are most helpful when trying to uncover what's new in industries, while periodical indexes (like Business Source Complete) offer more scholarly research on new technologies as well as some news articles.  Below each database or periodical index are some subject terms that can help you start your search as well as some search tips.  

To find more databases that may help you in your research, use the "Databases" tab on the Libraries' homepage to search for useful databases.  From there you can search by the database's name or surf through the offerings alphabetically.

Some of UK's databases include links to a large number of full-text articles, but some provide only abstracts. Look for links to PDF or HTML full-text. In most databases, if there is no full-text link, you will see the following icon:

Click on it to see if UK Libraries has access to an electronic or paper copy of the article. If not, there will be a link to UK Libraries' Interlibrary Loan service.

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840