Skip to main content

New Product Development: Directories, Handbooks, Geographical & Biographical Sources

Geographical Sources

Geographical sources allow information to be viewed according to location.  They are an important tool for people interested in market research since they provide demographic information by geographic area; product developers can then introduce new products to areas where people are most likely to buy them.  

If you would like information on using the online catalog to find books, go to the tab at the top of this page marked "Books: Finding and Browsing."

Commercial Atlas & Marketing Guide
G 1106 .Q4 R350 136th ed. v.1 2005
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
This two volume set includes an index and guide with a variety of maps, tables, and charts.

Biographical Sources

Biographical resources allow market researchers to find important people in various industries, including company executives.

Directories

Directories are great tools for researchers who want to find out more about specific companies or associations.  Investigating rival companies is an important part of new product development, and directories can point out competitors as well as sometimes offer some information on their financial situation.  If you would like information on using the online catalog to find books, go to the tab at the top of this page marked "Books: Finding and Browsing." 

Print Directories

Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives
HG 4057 .A4 2010 v.1
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
This two volume set contains a directory of corporations in the first volume and a directory of directors and executives in the second volume.  The indexes are located in the second volume, and they contain methods of searching by industrial code (NAICS) and geographical area.  Vol. 2 also contains a section on new executives in the very back of the volume.  For information on NAICS codes, go to the tab marked, "Government Sources, Websites, People and Research Centers" and click on the link for the Census Bureau in the box labeled "Government Sources."

Online Directories

Almanacs, Yearbooks, Handbooks and Manuals

There are a number of manuals, handbooks, and almanacs that can aid you when carrying out research associated with new product development.  If you would like information on using the online catalog to find books, go to the tab at the top of this page marked "Books: Finding and Browsing."
 
 
Market Share:
 
Having a knowledge of a company or industry's market share can be a useful too when conducting competitive analysis during the new product development process.  Here are some of the best resources at Young Library for finding market share. 
 
Market Share Reporter
HF 5410 .M35 v. 1 
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Contains market share information on a wide variety of industries.  You can use one of the five indexes to find information.  Indexes are organized according to geographic location, company, SIC codes, brand, or product/service.  
 
Global Market Share Planner Volume 1: Market Share Tracker
HD 2757 .15 .G563 2008
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Contains market share information pertaining to international companies in the consumer goods markets.  Entries are organized by geographic location and industry type.
 
 
Demographics:
There are a number of books at Young Library that provide demographic information that can aid when analyzing consumers of new products.  The  New Strategists Publications series in particular has some great titles. Below are just a few of the many titles the series has to offer.  To find more from this series, search for "New Strategist Publications, Inc." under Author in InfoKat Discovery.
 
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns 8th ed.
HA 214 .A6 2007
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
 
 
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live
HC 110 .C6 M58  2008
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
 
 
Industry:
 
 
Industry surveys can also be a great resource when trying to get a feel for the industry into which a new product will be introduced.  These surveys can provide information about current trends in different industries.  One resource for this kind of research is listed below:
 
 
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
HC 106.6 .S74 v.1 2010 July
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Organized alphabetically by survey name or chronologically by survey date.  Some of the many surveys included in this edition include: Movies and Entertainment, Restaurants, and Paper and Forest Products.

Business and Economics Liaison

Peter Hesseldenz's picture
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact:
W.T. Young Library

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY 40506-0456

(859) 218-1840

Ask a Librarian