Request an Interview
To request an interview or collection, log in or create a Research Account.
Links
- Kentucky Digital Library
This link opens in a new window
Online finding aids and digitized material from archival collections across the state of Kentucky, particularly small academic institutions and public libraries. Note that content from UK, UofL, and others is not available on the new KDL. Many previous partners now provide access via their own institutions digital libraries. See ExploreUK for access to UK content.
- ExploreUK
- This link opens in a new window
- SPOKEdb: Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History Collection Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
The searchable catalog contains the records for over 14,000 interviews and nearly 600 oral history projects. Allows users to browse the collections and projects based on subjects or names or conduct a search of the collections, projects, and interviews. Users can follow links from the catalog record to interviews or projects that are available online or request to use interviews that are not yet online by using the online form.
Introduction
Several oral history collections at the Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History pertain to various aspects of the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. Topics range from interviews about life under segregation and the desegregation of education to interviews with prominent civil rights activists. These collections explore the collective struggle to end legal segregation as well as discuss individual acts of resistance that normally, without oral history, would not make it into the historical record.
You can browse specific oral history subjects below or click on the Collections tab and browse collections related to the Civil Rights Movement. This guide is also searchable.
The Nunn Center
Featured Collection
The Robert Penn Warren Civil Rights Movement Oral History Project
The Robert Penn Warren Civil Rights Oral History Project is a collection of interviews concerning the Civil Rights movement and the socioeconomic, cultural, and political struggles of African Americans. Conducted in 1964 by Kentucky native, author, and first poet laureate of the United States, Robert Penn Warren, these interviews constituted part of Warren's research for his book, Who Speaks for the Negro?