Skip to main content

African American Primary Resources in the Special Collections Research Center: PUBLIC POLICY COLLECTIONS

Sources found in the University of Kentucky Libraries.

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS RESEARCH CENTER

CONTACT:

Email: sclref@lsv.uky.edu

Phone:

(859) 257-8611

Fax: 

(859) 257-6311

Public Policy Collections

Albert B. Chandler Papers

  • Primary source material (Accession #77M1) of personal, political, and general papers, legal papers, and a subject file. There are also photographs, political cartoons, audio-visual material, and memorabilia. During his term as Commissioner of Baseball, Jackie Robinson became the first African-American player allowed to play in the major leagues. [Collection Scope and Content Note

Earle C. Clements Papers

  • Personal and political papers of Earle C. Clements, member of the U.S. House of Representatives (1945-1947), governor of Kentucky (1947-1950), and U.S. Senator (1950-1956, Acting Majority Leader 1955-1956). These primary source records consist of correspondence, reports, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, photographs, audio-visual material, and campaign and other memorabilia. Clements was a civil rights advocate, and while governor, the University of Kentucky was forced to admit its first African American student, Lyman T. Johnson, in 1948. [Collection Scope and Content Note]

John Sherman Cooper Collection

  • The personal and political papers of John Sherman Cooper. Each series contains personal, political, and general papers within one or more subject files. There are also some plaques, certificates, and memorabilia. Oral history interviews on Cooper's life are also available. Senator John Sherman Cooper supported civil rights legislation. [Collection Scope and Content Note]

 Wilson W. Wyatt Collection

  • Materials from 1826-1993 relating to Wilson W. Wyatt's personal and political life. Items document Wilson Wyatt's career as a lawyer, a mayor, a lieutenant governor, a political aide, and his continued interest in politics after his retirement. Also includes materials that relate to Mrs. Anne D. Wyatt's personal and public life, and the Wyatts's interaction with African American supporters and events. [Collection Scope and Content Note]

Contact the University of Kentucky Special Collections Research Center for more information about the many other Public Policy Collections.

Email: sclref@lsv.uky.edu

Phone: (859) 257-8611

Fax:  (859) 257-6311

 

Return to Introduction